Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > On The Road...
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-09-2020, 11:42 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member

2021 22' Caravel
SEATTLE , WA
Calculating Grades

Hi, I have a total newb question. I spent about 30 minutes surfing the forums without any luck so I’m posting in the hope of getting some advice.

Is there a general rule of thumb or formula to calculate if a grade is too steep to tow my trailer up (and down)?

And any suggestions where I can find a highway’s grade and plan my safest route before I set out?

Here’s some specifics for us: Picking up a 22FB Caravel in February (5000 lb GVWR), towing w/ Audi Q7 with a tow package (7700 lb towing capacity). We will probably upgrade the TV at some point, but love the Audi and want to try it out for a season, avoiding mountain passes (we drove the spectacular Northern Cascades Highway over the weekend without a trailer and have seen Airstreams on that route, which seemed crazy).

I’ve been surfing these forums daily for the last few months and appreciate how generous everyone is with advice and guidance. Many thanks!
bcheever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 11:56 AM   #2
Lost in America

2015 27' FB International
2006 25' Safari FB SE
2004 19' International CCD
Santa Fe , New Mexico
Get a copy of https://www.mountaindirectory.com/ which lists all of the mountain passes. There are western and eastern directories. Your engine and trans temps will let you know the rest of the story.

2015 Airstream International Serenity 27FB
Chevy Silverado 2500HD Duramax Diesel

mojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 12:33 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2020 23' Flying Cloud
2019 22' Sport
Sebastian , Florida