Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > On The Road...
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-13-2020, 08:27 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2019 25' Flying Cloud
Cape May County , New Jersey
AS with Open Hatch

Looking at getting the 27' FC FBT with the Open Hatch.....Besides the cool factor, is it worth the extra money? Do you use it much?

Love to hear about the pros and cons....
huck55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2020, 08:31 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1977 31' Sovereign
Vintage Kin Owner
Vintage Kin Owner
Sunset Valley , Texas
I have no direct knowledge or experience with this.
Seems like another leak point and a major one at that. Why not just sit outside?

Ian
Iansk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2020, 11:03 PM   #3
3 Rivet Member

2020 25' Globetrotter
San diego , California
I thought about it. Seems it might be cool for putting some bikes or maybe kayaks or a canoe even a motorcycle. But then that stuff might mess up the trailer and that stuff would be there while in transit and all stops. Might be cool for beach camping where everyone is sardine canned. Sit inside, look at the ocean, not sitting spitting distance from neighbor.
JunkYard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2020, 02:05 AM   #4
Rivet Master

2014 20' Flying Cloud
Sag Harbor , New York
FYI there is a sub-forum dedicated to the Eddie Bauer model:

https://www.airforums.com/forums/f531/

. . . where you might find helpful info and feedback, by quoting folks there IMO.

Pendleton: https://www.airforums.com/forums/f538/
"Special Editions" master forum: https://www.airforums.com/forums/f530/

Happy trails,
OTRA15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2020, 06:07 AM   #5
Rivet Master

2015 27' FB Eddie Bauer
2011 25' FB Flying Cloud
Fernandina Beach , Florida
AS with Open Hatch