Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > On The Road...
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-30-2006, 09:56 AM   #1

Currently Looking...
Austin , Texas
Advice for Airstream purchase-First timer

I am considering purchasing either a 19'Bambi Safari, a 22' Safari or 23' Safari. Primarily, I would use it on back roads and freestanding camping etc.[not RV parks] Mountains and maybe a trip to Alaska. Tow vehicle would be full size SUV. Most trips would be two-four weeks, two or three times a year. Mainly only one person, but occasionally two. I probably would purchase new. Any advcie on trailers or optional equipment from folks other than sales people, would be much appreciated! I have extensive camping and boating experience, but never owned an RV before.
Jim H. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2006, 10:14 AM   #2
Aluminut

2004 25' Safari
. , Illinois
I owned a 19' Bambi before going to the 25' Safari. I loved the 19', though some folks like the 22', I didn't care for the wet bath or the front bedroom. Additionally, the wheel well took a good bit of the foot space under the dinette. The 23 addresses most of the short comings of the 22', except the front bedroom, which to me is a personal thing. One thing for sure is that dual axles tow smoother and can get you out of a bind should one tire go south.

Not sure if they ever gave the 22' 2 batteries, but if not, our 19' had it. I also don't know if the 23' has dual batteries. Boondocking with 2 batteries is king.