Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Vintage Kin
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-06-2004, 07:19 AM   #1

1950s fan travel trailer

I have a 1950s fan travel trailer that needs restoring. i am new to this but i think i can do most of the work myself. i have been stripping the paint off the outside to find some areas that have been patched with bondo. I don't know what to do to make these areas like aluminum. Any ideas? This trailer also has ridges on the outside and its been difficult to strip in between them. I have been using a soft brillow pad that has scratched slightly and it seems to take forever. Any ideas on this? Now that its almost down to bare aluminum whats the next step in getting the aluminum clean and shiny. What tools do i need for this process? I am not a perfectionist,i do not need the best,i am just a girl with a dream and i need some good advice. Hope you can help. Thanks in advance.
farmgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 07:35 AM   #2
2 Rivet Member

hello farmgirl and welcome. first thing to do is run a search on this forum. there are many articles on polishing and interior panel replacement i suppose. when we polished the exterior of our trailer we used 2000grit wet n dry sandpaper after using scotchbright pads ? rather severe for severe areas. look into the purchase of a variable speed orbital sander and use compound and sheepskin pads with it, you may be suprised at how nice a job it provides. we used nuvite S grade compound. do the forum search first, compound second.
roger n cindy
roger n cindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 05:36 PM   #3
Vintage Alum. Enthusiast

1959 24' Tradewind
Phoenix , Arizona
FarmGirl,