Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-08-2022, 06:36 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member

2022 20' Basecamp
Rochester , Michigan
Weight Distribution Hitch for a 20x?

We are picking up our 2023 Basecamp 20x this week (woohoo!) and the dealer is advising we get a WDH. We are pulling with a 2020 Chevy Silverado and my friend who owns a trailer shop says I definitely do not need one for the Basecamp size and weight. Thoughts? I’m heavily leaning toward getting one just for the peace of mind since I have limited trailer pulling experience but I’m curious if there are any drawbacks to a WDH like not being able to make tight turns, go up steep hills, etc. Thanks in advance!
ErickfromMI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2022, 06:50 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Probably don't need it at all. I would get and install a friction sway control bar though.

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2022, 06:50 AM   #3
"Cloudsplitter"

2003 25' Classic
Houstatlantavegas , Malebolgia
Quote:
Originally Posted by ErickfromMI View Post
We are picking up our 2023 Basecamp 20x this week (woohoo!) and the dealer is advising we get a WDH. We are pulling with a 2020 Chevy Silverado and my friend who owns a trailer shop says I definitely do not need one for the Basecamp size and weight. Thoughts? I’m heavily leaning toward getting one just for the peace of mind since I have limited trailer pulling experience but I’m curious if there are any drawbacks to a WDH like not being able to make tight turns, go up steep hills, etc. Thanks in advance!
From 18yrs towing our '63 safari, EVERY Airstream will benefit from sway control & WD especially a single axle unit. We had none of your stated 'problems'.
Think of it this way...you'll have it when you up-grade to a larger Airstream...AMHIK