Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-05-2024, 12:09 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Lindenhurst , Illinois
TV tongue weight management

HI All - newbie here and trying to figure out which towing vehicle to get and wondering about the tongue weight. One option i am looking at has only 500 tongue weight capacity, we're planning at this point to start with a Basecamp 20x, so should be fine. But also eying to stay flexible and when looking at Bambi and Caravel, the 19 and 22 ft have just slightly over 500lbs tongue weight (550 and 525), can this be managed by loading some heavier stuff into the back of the trailer to level the load a little and ok to drive save? How much over the nominal tongue weight by balancing stuff you bring can be managed?

I don't want to buy a huge car that gives us a bad mpg all year long and on long trips as well. Was looking at the Grand Cherokee 4xe and that one has enough capacity but terrible reliability. Looking at the Toyota Grand highlander hybrid max currently. tow capacity of 5,000lbs and tongue weight max of 500 lbs.

Appreciate any thoughts!
PeterF66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2024, 01:00 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2023 28' International
Mercer County , New Jersey
Moving weight to the rear is a bad idea. It is recommended to have 10% - 15% of the trailer weight on the tongue for optimal towing safety.

One thing to recognize is that AS is notoriously low with their trailer tongue weights. Also, once loaded the weight will be more than what's published. I'd probably add at least 75# to the published weight for a loaded trailer.

Finally, you need to consider payload too. Payload is consumed by the tongue weight, any occupants of the vehicle, and any cargo in or on the TV.