Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Base Camp
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-16-2020, 07:16 PM   #1

ann arbor , Michigan
storing my 2021 Basecamp X

Hello
I am new to RVing and have a 2021BasecampX. I live in Michigan and stay in Florida in late Fall through winter. I am in PalmHarbor/Clearwater area in winter and plan on using and outside storage facility. On rare occasion we get a few overnights of frost temps. If I just empty all water tanks and such am I OK or is there a way I can just use the Truma system with just the propane tanks as electricity won't be available. I do have the optional solar panels but I am so new to all of this. THANKS in advance
DoogieA2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 07:26 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2020 23' Flying Cloud
2019 22' Sport
Sebastian , Florida
In years past, I would say no worries. We seem to be experiencing weather extremes, even in Florida. Will you have time and access to respond to a forecast freeze?
It takes time for the heat to transfer from inside the trailer, and water must transfer a lot of heat before it freezes. I am not a fan of leaving systems running unattended.
We live due east of you and have never had even a close call. I would drain the lines and blow them out, and then enjoy my time in the Sunshine State.
GetawA-S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2020, 05:49 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member

2021 20' Basecamp
South Easton , MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoogieA2 View Post
Hello