Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-08-2020, 04:42 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Houston , Texas
Clicking Noise. Solar Controller?

I've been traveling extensively in a 2018 basecamp for two years and love it. But I knew the day would come when something went pear shaped: I recently noticed a clicking noise coming from the area of the battery. When I pull the access panel, I can see a small device (about the size of my fist) screwed to the cabinet above the battery. I'm not sure whether the device is a solar charge controller or a solenoid or something else. Tracing the wires makes me think it is part of the solar charging system. The device clicks every few seconds and a small LED light on the device changes from green to red and back to green, in time with the click.

Need help understanding what is causing the clicking. Some clues:
- The Basecamp was in strong sunlight when I noticed the noise. I do have solar panels on the roof.
- Does not seem to matter whether the main battery selector switch is on or off. The clicking persists, regardless of the selector switch setting.
- Putting a a load on the battery (turning on all the lights) makes the clicking noise increase in frequency
- Plugging into shore power makes the clicking stop.
- Batteries are fully charged. Showing about 12.7 Volts when not connected to shore power.

Do I have a problem? Or should I buy a good set of earplugs?
WDavidB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2020, 07:32 AM   #2
"Pura Vida"

2018 Basecamp
North Conway , New Hampshire
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDavidB View Post