Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Base Camp
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-24-2021, 12:32 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

calgary , Alberta
Basecamp 20 Weight Distribution Hitch

Good day all
For the past 8 months I've been on this site ever since we put a deposit on a 2021 Basecamp 20. Put the deposit August and have still been waiting for a now estimated delivery in July. I wonder if this is secondary to living in Canada and us being less prioritized during the pandemic, but that's a different issue.

As a complete newbie to towing, there is a lot I've learned on this forum - thank you all. I've realized that our Subaru Ascent may tow OK (5000lbs, 500 tongue, 4 cylinder CVT) , but is not ideal for life in the rockies where we are based out of. We have changed our TV to a Lexus GX with a 6500, 650 tongue weight, V8. Like almost everything, the TV hasn't arrived yet, subject to pandemic related delays.

My question is how to deal with the WD and what precise WD hitch is recommended for the Basecamp. I've been unable to get clarity from searching the forum and the internet over the past few weeks. Unlike the Subaru, the Lexus GX needs sway control. I was thinking of Blue Ox, but from reviewers here, it seems that the Basecamp 20 does not support this secondary to the propane tanks and some structural interference.

Ultimately my question is:

Is there a specific WD hitch that you suggest I go with? Unfortunately I do not have my basecamp 20 or access to any to see what can be attached to it. Some posters say that only certain equalizers work while others do not.

Perhaps this?

Also, is an adjustable hitch like this an all around safe bet?