Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-25-2011, 06:50 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1976 29' Ambassador
Tarpon Springs , Florida
Upholstery, remove or replace

I am new to the Airstream family and i am very excited. I purchased a 1975 29' ambasador that iwas partiIally restored. My first project is recovering or replacing the couch/bed foam cushions. The foam is in one piece but is drying out creating foam dust. Should I simply go to a local business or is there a good company that offers cushions at a reasonable price?
Hopichangi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 07:22 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1973 27' Overlander
Currently Looking...
Jupiter , Florida
If it's original foam its the priciest quality out there - you'll maybe suffer sticker shock at seeing what they want for equal quality, I believe my cushions were all Latex foam ($$$).

When I discarded my twin mattresses and cushions I discovered the soiling and aging problems were only on the surface, dropping in on a little foam shop the owner said he'd be happy to trim off the outer layers ($25K has to pay its way!) if it was not grossly soiled...but it was a day or two too late.

Just passing on a learning experience, some foam shops say absolutely no used foam is to be cut, some are more than willing if they look at it to see its still hygienic. Maybe shaving off the outer quarter-inch would freshen it up?
Old 11-25-2011, 07:42 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1956 22' Flying Cloud
1953 32' Liner
1955 22' Safari
Valley View , Texas
Send a message via Skype™ to Melody Ranch
Hi! Just go for high quality ..dense...foam. That cheap stuff you see at outlets, etc., is not what you want. Like said...it is pricey ...but worth doing it right...once. You also may want to keep an eye open for someone selling off their new mattresses from an Airstream remodel. They show up regularly.
Old 11-25-2011, 08:59 AM   #4
1 Rivet Member