Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Boondocking
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-15-2020, 05:45 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2018 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Golden , Colorado
What do I need to do to Boondock

Hello - I am new to Rv’ing (2018 Airstream Motorhome). What do I need to do (e.g. turn on something - inverter?) to successfully boondock?

Much Appreciated.
jgummoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2020, 07:07 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2019 27' Flying Cloud
Kansas City , Missouri
what model do you have?

Piggy Bank
Piggy Bank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2020, 07:31 PM   #3

Currently Looking...
Littleton , Colorado
Boondocking simply put is just camping without hookups, you will need water in your fresh water tank, propane in your tanks and charged batteries. We do it all the time, you will need to figure out how to conserve your water and batteries to make them last. Get out and enjoy the great outdoors
AndyE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2020, 07:39 PM   #4
Rivet Master

2018 25' International
Slidell , Louisiana
Best way to learn what you need and how to do it is to boondock in your driveway. If you are going to do it for 3 days boondock in the driveway for 3 days and so on. I will give you a hint, if you don't use a generator, don't use the inverter. It uses 2 amps just idling.
BayouBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2020, 08:54 PM   #5
1 Rivet Member

Golden , Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piggy Bank View Post
what model do you have?
2018 Airstream Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Old 10-15-2020, 08:58 PM   #6
1 Rivet Member

Golden , Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayouBiker View Post