Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-29-2007, 08:14 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1983 31' Airstream310
Iowa City , Iowa
The Rime of the Ancient Airstreamer...

"Water, water everywhere, nor any drop to drink..." Why, yes I was an English teacher. How did you know???

So here is my question (and probably a not-too-brilliant one at that):

When travelling in the moho, we don't want to waste fuel hauling a full tank of water. Many of the places we may stay (federal and state parks) will have elec, but not water at the site. Is there usually a common hydrant for filling up when you arrive? If not, where do you get water for the stay?

This applies even more to boondocking. Do the "big box" gas stations like Flying J have potable water to tank up on when near your destination?

Auretrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 08:20 AM   #2
Site Team

1964 26' Overlander
1964 19' Globetrotter
OlyPen , Washington
We make it a point to travel with a few gallons of water in the tank - not full, but enough for a few flushes and pot of coffee. More than once we have pulled into a site late at night and either not had water at the site, or found that the faucet was broken.

AirForums Custom Search
Janet H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 08:35 AM   #3
Rivet Master

2012 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Vintage Kin Owner
Virginia Beach , Virginia
Carry SOME!

10 gallons - 80 lbs. I don't know how big your moho is, but compared to a toad's weight, or almost anything else you carry, some water won't be that big of a mileage factor. I imagine on the big mohos you'd not notice a difference at all. I'd do a controlled distance run with a full vs nearly empty water tank and check the MPG before assuming that it WILL hurt.