Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Boondocking
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-02-2014, 09:20 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Bellevue , Washington
saniflush hoses dont fit?

I'm new to AS, I see we have a sewer flush input. However, the saniflush hoses by the dumps (some state park, rest area) can't fit in. Is there an adapter I'm missing?

Thanks! I'm in WA.
shockfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 09:58 PM   #2
cwf
Rivet Master

1999 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Hillsboro , Texas
Howdy..
Are you talking about the Black Tank flush?
cwf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 10:17 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2006 25' Safari FB SE
Spokane , Washington
The black tank flush accepts a standard garden hose thread. I have yet to see a dump station on the interstate or at a state campground that has a threaded water hose.

When I am on the road I just dump the tanks and don't worry about flushing them. Once I return home I go to a local spot that provided a hose and I clean everything there.
aftermath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2014, 06:45 AM   #4
cwf
Rivet Master

1999 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Hillsboro , Texas
Yes.. need the 'garden hose' connection..

To 'solution' this, after I dump the Black tank, I close the valve and have my wife fill the toilet and flush using our fresh water system on the AS. With water in there, as we tow, there will be 'agitation' of the remnants in the Black tank. Some folks dump the remaining ice from their ice chests in the tank too... as the solid ice can 'scrub' things up a bit while underway towing.

Put in some 'toilet conditioner' from your favorite RV store... to keep things 'in check'.. it can also break down things..