Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Boondocking
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-07-2020, 09:39 AM   #1
Living Riveted

2014 19' Flying Cloud
Carnegie , Pennsylvania
Help with Generator Selection

Ok, still consider myself a newbie here. Have a 2014 flying cloud Bambi, 19 foot. I also have a Zamp solar panel which I’ve barely used. I’m going to be doing some Boondocking and want the luxury of air conditioner etc. Therefore I’m looking to add generator capacity for my airstream. I have zero experience with generators. Upon calling Jackson center, they recommend two 2000 W generators if you want to run air conditioner. Since I know nothing about generators, from my limited research I understand that the 2000 W models are lighter weight and you have to buy one that can be connected to another one. Here are my questions:
1. Recommendations on best generators – I have heard Honda are solid and to avoid the cheaper models at Harbor freight only because if something goes wrong you won’t find anyone who can fix them.
2. How does the airstream connect to the generator? It doesn’t look like most generators have a 30 amp outlet – do I just use the adapter to a standard AC outlet and plug the airstream into the generator AC outlet?
3, because my tow vehicle is an SUV, I’m thinking about generators that run off of liquid propane instead of gasoline. The reason is I feel like between the generators and the gasoline I would need to transport, either my airstream or my tow vehicle will smell of gasoline. (Unfortunately I don’t have a truck that has an open air bed). Does anyone know about the reliability of generators that run from propane on the airstreams or any experience or recommendations on those?