Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Boondocking
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-27-2020, 02:36 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2020 25' Flying Cloud
Grand Rapids , Michigan
Generator battery charging

Hello, newbie here and first post. We are out this week for our first trip in our 2020 FC. We have no hookups and are in a no generator part of the campground because our reservation for an electric site was cancelled due to the pandemic. We were told because of this we could use a generator provided it is quiet. All the sites are quite shaded so solar is not enough to maintain the batteries. I have a new generator (a 2000 watt Yamaha knockoff) that is very quiet on eco mode but with all the breakers in the trailer off other than the converter it will not stay at the low output and revs up to a much louder level. It would seem that the converter would not pull that much current. Am I missing something or should I be looking for a different generator? Thanks a lot!
Phlyphisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 02:42 PM   #2
Rivets?

1992 29' Excella
2010 22' Interstate
Van By The River , Georgia
We have an older trailer with a relatively modern multi-stage charger. I've never used a generator but we have used an amp meter (ammeter) in the 30A line and noticed the current goes quite high (10 A perhaps) for some period of time when the batteries are initially recharging. I know that response is pretty vague but maybe it gives you some insight. Of course, your situation may be different.
2018 GMC Sierra K1500 SLT, 6.2L, Max Trailering
Got a cooped-up feeling, gotta get out of town, got those Airstream campin' blues...
nvestysly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 02:46 PM   #3
"Cloudsplitter"

2003 25' Classic
Houstatlantavegas , Malebolgia