Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-18-2021, 05:05 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

2021 27' Globetrotter
Malibu , California
Colorado / Rocky Mountains Boondocking Help

Hi everyone,

I am on a long Coast to Coast and just got to Fort Collins in Colorado. It's my first time to the area but somehow, by being on the road since January, I forgot that now its summertime and everything (Campgrounds, HipCamp, Harvest Host, etc) is fully booked.

I would love to find a few base-camps from where to explore the area (Boulder, Breckenridge, Aspen...), and I was wondering if anyone was so kind to share their secret boon docking locations. I'd love to return the favor for any other State.

Thanks so much,
S

PS: 27F Globetrotter, no lift kit, powerful 4x4 -- and I am from the Alps, so mountain roads don't scare me
CMHM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2021, 05:28 PM   #2
Site Team

2017 30' International
Broomfield , Colorado
Following

You will be hard pressed to find real estate this time of year this side of the continental divide.

Looking forward to see what other post.
wulfraat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2021, 06:48 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2007 Interstate
Normal , Illinois
Most of us don’t share favorite boondocking locations on public forums, or soon they are overrun.

There are many small, inexpensive campgrounds in the Rockies outside of the Park, many near rushing mountain rivers.

I like the AllStays app, but whichever one you prefer, find a campground that interests you and then head for it.

Then the next.

My husband and I spent about a month roaming around there some years back, staying a couple of nights at each location, and it was glorious.

Maggie

🏡 🚐 Cherish and appreciate those you love. This moment could be your last.🌹🐚
Lily&Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2021, 07:53 PM   #4
3 Rivet Member

2021 28' International
Knoxville , Tennessee