Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-14-2012, 10:34 AM   #1
4 Rivet Member

1999 27' Safari
Palo Alto , California
Should I buy or should I run away

I've been looking locally for an airstream for about six months now, and found a 31 foot 1977 International Sovereign that I'm thinking about pulling the trigger on.

The good news is that the frame is solid, the rear is not loose or drooping and there are no leaks or floor rot. I'm confident of my skills to restore the interior.

The bad news is that some of the skin damage scares me and I've got no experience at all (yet) dealing with body repairs.

Here are pictures of the two areas of concern. This is all on the drivers side rear of the trailer - one problem area is a whole bunch of dent craters on the corner of the roof, the other is a roughly 10 foot long long horizontal dent and scratch mid-way up the side wall.

Question is about the cost and difficulty of repairing or at least minimizing this damage. Would greatly appreciate your guidance on what I'm looking at here, and whether this body damage should cause me to run away from this otherwise decent trailer. I'm not looking to make it perfect, but I would want to improve it a lot over the way it is now.

From reading here, it looks like the dents on the corner should be easier to repair than the horizontal scratch. But that's why I'm asking the experts.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20120412_130023.jpg
Views:	234
Size:	439.9 KB
ID:	155724   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20120412_125059.jpg
Views:	219
Size:	194.0 KB
ID:	155725  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20120412_125056.jpg
Views:	195
Size:	222.7 KB
ID:	155726  
ddruker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 10:52 AM   #2

2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
2012 23' FB Flying Cloud
2005 25' Safari
Santa Rosa Beach , Florida