Old 07-07-2020, 06:23 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1985 31' Sovereign
Lovettsville , Virginia
Rivet Mystery

Hello all! Iíd like to thank the many members who have provided their knowledge and experiences that I have been enjoying for several years now, and ask for a little more of it for my specific rivet mystery.

I have an Ď85 Sovereign, 31í with twin rear beds. It has been in my family since 1986 or 87 when my grandfather bought it used. It is the subject of a future Full Monty which I am probably 2 years from beginning. Iíve been focusing on learning about rivets lately and while I was taking a closer look at some future work on the airstream today I began questioning what I thought I knew.

I welcome any corrections where I am mistaken. So, I thought that the exterior skins and windows etc. all had bucked rivets and that pop rivets were used on the inside, underbelly, and belt trim at the bottom of the shell where it obviously isnít possible to have a bucking bar on the back side. I question this now because I have found what I believe to be Olympic rivets on the street side. As best I can tell, there are bucked rivets on the curb side as they appear to have slightly lower profile and larger diameter heads. On the front, and wrapping around to the street side rear, I found mostly these. Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5426.JPG
Views:	10
Size:	319.3 KB
ID:	372177
Is this a shaved Olympic rivet that was done poorly? Even at the rear storage hatch, the hatch appears to have bucked rivets on the skin of the hatch door, but the frame appears to have Olympic rivets; am I right?
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5428.JPG
Views:	11
Size:	381.3 KB
ID:	372178