Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Exterior Restoration Forum > Ribs, Skins & Rivets
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-28-2012, 10:25 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1971 21' Globetrotter
Redondo Beach , California
Rivet guns and other tool recommendations?

I'm just getting started on the newly acquired camper, and was wondering what you all's recommendations were for a standard rivet gun. My beltline trim is coming off in places, and I'd like to pull off some banana skins to try and straighten them as well. So, I need a rivet gun, some properly sized drill bits, and rivets. I have a shop full of tools, but no rivet gun. Also, what size/kind of rivets should I buy for the repairs?

And while I'm asking, since I'm new to this game, which tools do you all think are must-haves in the AS owner's kit?

Thanks
Ben
1971 Globetrotter
BenHud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 12:00 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member

1985 31' Excella
Fresno , Texas
5/32" Olympic Rivet uses a #21 drill bit. The factory rivits are buck rivets. The Olympic when shaved looks like a factory rivit until a very close inspection. You can get the rivits from any Airstream dealer or Blind Pop Riveting
Wsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 01:03 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member

1971 21' Globetrotter
It looks like my beltline is attached with standard pop rivets, not the Olympic type. Is that normal, or did the PO remove it and reattach it incorrectly?

I don't mind spending a few hundred on the Olympic riveting system, but will save that purchase for later if I don't need it for this job.

Also, I'm missing one of the "Land Yacht" trim pieces on the right side. Any ideas where to source one?
Old 12-28-2012, 02:16 PM   #4
Rivet Master

1968 24' Tradewind
Oxford, , Mississippi