Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Exterior Restoration Forum > Ribs, Skins & Rivets
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-24-2012, 03:57 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1986 25' Sovereign
Wichita Falls , Texas
I'm new at rivets!

I have been doing some work to my '86 sovereign, and have had some trials with the rivets. A friend told me that after I insert and squeeze the gun so the rivet sets, that the tail should always snap off on it's own, only two out of twenty did this, the rest I had to snip off, which is right??

Also, some of the rivets were not real tight, even though I squeezed the heck out of them, and I do have a grip, why is this??? I was using the smallest rivet I could find, 1/8" aluminum.

Thanks!
frscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 04:05 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member

1994 28' Excella
Paris , Ohio
Hello, sometimes you must let up on the handle and squeeze it several times,by doing this it will draw the head into the rivet and tighten it and the nail will pop off.
trapperman33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 05:00 PM   #3
Site Team

2002 25' Safari
Dewey , Arizona
As Trapperman said, let the gun open, push the gun down to the rivet and give it another squeeze. The rivet shaft should not snap off until the rivet is fully compressed on the back side.

You should probably drill out the ones that you snipped and do them again.

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 08:41 PM   #4
3 Rivet Member

1986 25' Sovereign
Wichita Falls , Texas
Drill out? argh!!! Thanks for the advice though, I will do and try it again. Thanks!!
Old 04-24-2012, 09:08 PM   #5
4 Rivet Member

1993 30' Excella
Lakeland , Florida
rivet guns

Quote: