Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Exterior Restoration Forum > Ribs, Skins & Rivets
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-15-2010, 10:09 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1997 34' Limited
christiana , Tennessee
How bad does this dent look?

I am new to site and have been looking for a while. Found a beautiful Airstream that I am about to buy. I am concerned about this dent in the back. The owner said he backed into a tree limb which hit the closed awning and made the dent. How should I check for leaks and would anyone know approximately how much this would cost to repair? Any suggestions on how much I should lower asking price because of dent?

Thanks,
Clint 3636

clint3636 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 11:13 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2012 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Vintage Kin Owner
Virginia Beach , Virginia
Take it to Jackson Center

That is a deep dent It may have caused damage to the inside shell too - have you checked the backs of the overhead cabinets? Jackson Center charges approximately $1200 per curved segment. you'll need to have the top and two side pieces replaced. That will also involve reinstalling three lights and the awning (presuming it does not need to be replaced... which it might.

The Classic Ltd Red "Airstream" may also cost more than the basic black letters.

So your minimum is $3600 - $4000, and more if you've got inside damage or need to replace the awning or any window parts.

Paula
Old 08-16-2010, 05:39 AM   #3
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer

Corona , California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foiled Again View Post

So your minimum is $3600 - $4000, and more if you've got inside damage or need to replace the awning or any window parts.

Paula
I agree.

Andy
Inland RV Center, In is offline   Reply With Quote