Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Exterior Restoration Forum > Ribs, Skins & Rivets
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-25-2011, 03:06 PM   #1
Drewski

1967 17' Caravel
Minneapolis , Minnesota
Question Can Airstream skin aluminum be annealed?

So, I have to say that I have been utilizing this forum for several months now, and every question that I have had regarding the restoration of my airstream has thus far been answered by a quick search through previous discussions.

I now have a question that I have been unable to find a definitive answer to. Can the skin of my 1967 Airstream Caravel be annealed?

I have two large, deep dents and a lot of dimpling on the upper portion of the front end-cap, which I would like to repair. I have no experience with repairing aluminum besides the 20+ hours of research I have done on the issue. From what I have read and viewed so far, annealing makes the process of hammering and repairing dented aluminum a much easier and faster process. I have read in this forum that the skin is most likely made of 2024 aluminum, which I have read is very difficult to anneal by an amateur, such as myself. This is because the temperature zone between annealing and melting for 2024 aluminum is very small (400 degrees, 800-1200).

Does anyone have experience with this process? Is it very difficult to pound out dents and dimples without annealing?

I'm bent on doing all the work involved in restoration myself and would like to get started on this repair before winter arrives so that I can re-rivet the skins (replace old pop rivets used by PO for repair of the skins), get new insulation in and get the interior panels back in place so I have a warm place to work through the cold months up here in Minnesota.