Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Interior Restoration Forum > Cabinets, Counter Tops & Furnishings
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-15-2004, 08:26 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Send a message via AIM to BurnBound
Suggestions for Roll Cabinet replacement

I have a 72 Ambassador and have removed all of the roll cabinate closures are most were broken. I'm looking for any advice for replacing them.

I'm conceared about the formica holding new door hinges and latches, so I'm interested in how other people have delt with this. I'm not looking to restore, but to make the interior as durable as possible.

Thanks!

----------
Pictures
http://stage.itp.tsoa.nyu.edu/~ce328/airstream/airstream.html
BurnBound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2005, 10:27 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1971 25' Tradewind
1993 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Estancia , New Mexico
Quick, sharp and easy. Cut 2 horizontal sliding doors for each storage locker out of sheet aluminum. You will also need to add a strip of material as a spacer in the lower track
Lumatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2005, 10:45 AM   #3
a.k.a. Ambassador Tim

1960 28' Ambassador
Northern , California
I cut two 3/4" x 1.5" strips and used those as a backing to screw cabinet doors into.

Worked well for me.

http://www.ldservice.com/tim/airstre...net%20Work.htm
Check out my book: Restoring a Dream
Check out my Airstream book for kids!: Airstream Adventures
theVAP - Airstream Podcast
Safari Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2005, 01:07 PM   #4
Patriotic

1973 23' Safari
North of Boston , Massachusetts
Send them to me! LOL!
-
those "roll closures" are called "tambour" doors, and they are known to be troublesome. a PO removed them from my '73...I would like to put them back.