Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > International > 2006 - 2010 International
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-03-2016, 07:01 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2008 28' International
2024 28' International
Appleton , Wisconsin
Is there a way to stop the door from swinging into an open window?

Newbie here. I've got a 2008 28' International and my one gripe/fear is that the window over the dinette closest to the door is not very functional.

If I open the window I'm afraid that the door will swing into the open glass and break it.

This seems like a strangely large oversight from a company that seems to consider every detail.

Is there a way to stop the door from swinging 180º when the window is open? Am I missing something?

Here's a pic of my rig to illustrate.
Bradknapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2016, 07:30 AM   #2

2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
2012 23' FB Flying Cloud
2005 25' Safari
Santa Rosa Beach , Florida
I don't think that you are missing anything. If that window closest to the rear hinged door were in any of the open positions, and the door were to get caught by the wind when opened, it would have a good chance of breaking the window.

If I had a model configured that way, I don't think that I would ever open that window as a strong wind catching the door is a very common occurrence.

Brian
WBCCI #3628 -- AIR #14872 -- TAC #FL-7
2015 FC 25' FB (Lucy) with ProPride
2020 Silverado 2500 (Vivian)
2023 Rivian R1T (Opal)
moosetags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2016, 07:59 AM   #3
Rivet Master

2012 25' Flying Cloud
Battle Lake , Minnesota