Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2010, 07:19 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
TXMYTX's Avatar
 
2009 27' FB International
Rio Medina , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 41
Using 1 Yamaha generator

New to this, I have an 09 International...wondering if I can use one Yamaha 2000is generator...pretty sure I need two if I want to run the air...but, am I correct in thinking that I can use only one Yamaha generaor if I only use the furnace, tv, microwave and lights...at least until winter is over...

Also, would I use an adaptor for the shoreline since the connections wont allow plugin of the shoreline as is...

Thanks
Jack
__________________

TXMYTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 07:25 PM   #2
Naysayer
 
Boondocker's Avatar

 
1968 24' Tradewind
Louisville , earth
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,635
Images: 7
Send a message via Yahoo to Boondocker
Depends on if you want to run everything at one time. Have you already obtained the Yamaha? If not and if your AC is small enough a 2400is might be enough to cover your needs. Provided that you dont try to run everything at once.
__________________

__________________
Rodney

Visit my photography page
and the
Favorite camp grounds project map
My Blog

(The artist formerly known as General Disarray)

Boondocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 08:04 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
1987 29' Sovereign
Sparta , Tennessee
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 509
Send a message via Yahoo to wingfoot321
You can probably run furnace, lights, & tv but, not microwave.

Microwaves pull 8-9 amps.

I bought a Yamaha 2400 so that I could handle my 13500btu a/c unit.

Only problem, it weighs 70-74lbs + 12 lbs for gasoline. It is a bit heavier than I like to lift and is bulky as well.
wingfoot321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 08:05 PM   #4
4 Rivet Member
 
deauxrite's Avatar
 
2007 27' Safari FB SE
Full Timers just passing through , Arizona for a couple of weeks and then on to Utah!
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 325
I agree with Gen Disarray. The 2400IS works for me as long as I watch what I am running at the same time. As an added benefit, I have my 2400IS running on propane so that I don't have to mess with gasoline.
__________________
Living life on the Road
deauxrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 08:08 PM   #5
2 Rivet Member
 
TXMYTX's Avatar
 
2009 27' FB International
Rio Medina , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 41
Hello Rodney...thanks for your reply...

No, I haven't bought the generator yet, but planning to in the next couple of days....

Don't really see a reason to run everything at once...but likely several at tge same time...such as TV, air and maybe frig and light...but of course, the configuration can be cut to only what's needed...

But, I have a concern about whether the Yamaha 2400 would have enough power to start and manintain the air...any idea...

Again, thanks...

Jack (Texas My Texas)
TXMYTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 08:15 PM   #6
Naysayer
 
Boondocker's Avatar

 
1968 24' Tradewind
Louisville , earth
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,635
Images: 7
Send a message via Yahoo to Boondocker
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXMYTX View Post
But, I have a concern about whether the Yamaha 2400 would have enough power to start and manintain the air...any idea...
(Texas My Texas)
Its really a matter of how large your AC is. I think there is pretty much consensus that the 2400 can pull the smaller (13,500) ACs. My experience has been that my 2400 handled my old AC fine and it should have no problem with the new 13500 Carrier low profile I just installed.

There may be an augment for for the linking of two units together if you are expecting to run the AC off the gen for extended periods of time, but to be frank, thats beyond my firm understanding. You can search the forums and read about that.
__________________
Rodney

Visit my photography page
and the
Favorite camp grounds project map
My Blog

(The artist formerly known as General Disarray)

Boondocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 09:12 PM   #7
_
 
. , .
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,812
the 13,500 and 15,000 btu a/c units used as OEM (dometic/duotherm)

require BASICALLY the the same amps...the SAME amps.

the differences in these 2 sizes are squirrel cage fan and cooling coil size...

not power requirements.

in fact considering TOTAL energy usage, the 15,000 may actually use LESS juice IF it cycles ON less frequently.

the NEXT size smaller a/c units do take less juice, for example the 11,000 btu size.

while there ARE reports of "using" 2000 or 2400 watt gensets with the 13.5/15k btu units....

NO one is discussing how this SHORTENs the AC unit's life or the genset...

duo/dometic suggestions (see their website) 4000-4500 watts as the MINiMUM genset for RELIABLE ac usage....

the o.p. is thinking about doing 2 paralleled gens and THAT's a good idea for ALL of the larger ac units...

but ONE will run ALL the other stuff just not ALL at the same time.

and YES an adapter is need for the 15/20 amp genset plug to connect the 30 amp rv line...

the NEW honda 2000 companion model some WITH a 30 amp plug...

but a 30amp/to/30 amp adapter is still needed but for other reasons...

cheers
2air'
__________________
all of the true things that i am about to tell you are shameless lies. l.b.j.

we are here on earth to fart around. don't let anybody tell you any different. k.v.
2airishuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 09:45 PM   #8
Naysayer
 
Boondocker's Avatar

 
1968 24' Tradewind
Louisville , earth
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,635
Images: 7
Send a message via Yahoo to Boondocker
Utee94 makes the following point in another thread
Quote:
If the concern is the steady state running voltage for the sake of your compressor's health, then a spike at startup should not affect that issue. So in other words, if for example a Yamaha 2400W system can withstand the startup spike in current/power consumption, then when it comes to steady state running power, the maximum that my 15K BTU A/C unit pulls down is spec'd at 1.6KW. This is comfortably below the rated wattage of 2KW for this compressor, and FAR below the peak supply power of 2.4KW. So if the compressor can withstand the startup event, then it should not endanger the compressor beyond that, even with some lights running. I would say that if you want to run a microwave and/or hair dryer, then you should either turn off the A/C or get a bigger generator. But everything I'm looking at is telling me that if a 2.4KW genny can withstand that peak current at A/C startup, then it should be able to power the A/C at a steady state without much trouble.
__________________
Rodney

Visit my photography page
and the
Favorite camp grounds project map
My Blog

(The artist formerly known as General Disarray)

Boondocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 09:57 PM   #9
_
 
. , .
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,812
followed by the following...

Quote:
Originally Posted by utee94 View Post
...So that's the theory, on paper...
again the o.p. doesn't have a CARRIER ac and is asking about 2000 watt gensets initially NOT 2400s...

also the manufacturer of the ac unit AND the genset makers have OTHER theories "on paper"...

no doubt they are In cahoots to get US to buy excessively sized gensets and support the militaryindustrial complex..

by all means USE your new ac with marginal power and keep us informed of the results...

cheers
2air'
__________________
all of the true things that i am about to tell you are shameless lies. l.b.j.

we are here on earth to fart around. don't let anybody tell you any different. k.v.
2airishuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 10:11 PM   #10
Naysayer
 
Boondocker's Avatar

 
1968 24' Tradewind
Louisville , earth
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,635
Images: 7
Send a message via Yahoo to Boondocker
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2airishuman View Post

by all means USE your new ac with marginal power and keep us informed of the results...

cheers
2air'
I will. I am not a link collector so I am having trouble finding the link tonight, however, I did read a lengthy independent user load test with the 2400. It was fairly compelling that the load from an 13,500 was well within the abilities of the generator. I might see if I can find it again tomorrow. If someone else feels a sense of urgency, by all means Google away to your hearts content.

I wouldn't claim that that the genset doesn't work hard running the unit, it clearly does. Having said that, going by the numbers on Carrier and Yamaha websites, in addition to the reports of others, and my personal experience I am of the opinion that the Yamaha is capable of running the AC safely.

The only real issue is that because the generator has to work hard, it is not as quiet as I would like. Because I rely on the Yamaha to run the AC so infrequently this is a trade off I feel comfortable with.

On edit: Carrier low profile 13,500: full load amps =13.4 ( about 2200 watts) running watts = 1,500. Yamaha 2400is peak output = 2,400 watts, rated output 2,000 watts. 16.7 amps at 120 V.
__________________
Rodney

Visit my photography page
and the
Favorite camp grounds project map
My Blog

(The artist formerly known as General Disarray)

Boondocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 10:43 PM   #11
Naysayer
 
Boondocker's Avatar

 
1968 24' Tradewind
Louisville , earth
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,635
Images: 7
Send a message via Yahoo to Boondocker
Cut off by the time limit on edits

the full edit for the previous post..

On edit:
Carrier low profile 13,500: full load amps =13.4 ( about 2200 watts) running watts = 1,500. Yamaha 2400is peak output = 2,400 watts, rated output 2,000 watts. 16.7 amps at 120 V.

These are not theoretical numbers, they are empirical. The numbers fall within the parameters for both start up and running. The margin at start up is smaller, however, as explained below start up is not the critical issue. After start up,event running at full capacity there is a margin of 25% of the generators capacity. That isn't marginal.
__________________
Rodney

Visit my photography page
and the
Favorite camp grounds project map
My Blog

(The artist formerly known as General Disarray)

Boondocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 11:26 PM   #12
Fuil-Timers
 
DreamStreamr's Avatar
 
2005 25' International CCD
Pine Swamp , North Carolina
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 675
Images: 38
Send a message via Skype™ to DreamStreamr
Three quick points:
1. propane is great when it works but really sucks at high altitude. what's high altitude for an RV generator? Check the owner's manual -- the one we read in Ketchum, Idaho, this past mid-October said anything over 2,000 feet is high altitude. We were reading this guy's owner's manual before he rented a gas-powered portable generator to keep his Airstream's batteries charged.

2. we use a gasoline Yamaha 1000 when our solar panels don't send enough for our batteries to store. Best advantage is portability -- it weighs only 27 pounds so I can swing it off the tailgate without problem and place it where I want. We did switch to a 2 gallon steel safety gas can (with spring-loaded cap and fire suppression screen). And of course we cannot run microwave or roof A/C. But we can run everything else in the trailer, all at once if we wanted. Because the generator is rated for the full load amps (no locked rotor amps apply here) of the power converter/charger for the trailer, and that's our load.

3. you guys have a nice discussion going on running amps and all that. But I haven't seen anyone mention locked rotor amps (lra rating) yet. This is the hard part for the generator if it is sized a little marginally for the loads. It may have the right output to run the appliance, but you gotta start it first and the starting load, or lra, is pretty tough to overcome.

Just My 2 cents worth,
Jim
__________________
Chasing 75 Degrees,

Jim N5RTG
dreamstreamr.com
DreamStreamr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 12:47 AM   #13
Rivet Master
 
ROBERTSUNRUS's Avatar

 
2005 25' Safari
Salem , Oregon
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7,910
Images: 18
Blog Entries: 55
Hi, I have the 11,000 BTU air conditioner and a Yamaha 2400 generator; Most everything has been said, except that it has two handles, for two people to carry.
__________________
Bob

2005 Safari 25-B
"Le Petit Chateau Argent"
[ Small Silver Castle ]
2000 Navigator / 2014 F-150 Eco-Boost / Equal-i-zer / P-3
YAMAHA 2400 / AIR #12144
ROBERTSUNRUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 05:00 AM   #14
Rivet Master
 
Wayne&Sam's Avatar
 
2014 25' Flying Cloud
Cuddebackville , New York
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3,671
Images: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROBERTSUNRUS View Post
Hi, I have the 11,000 BTU air conditioner and a Yamaha 2400 generator; Most everything has been said, except that it has two handles, for two people to carry.
Me too.

But I just bought a Honda 2000 to use when we don't need A/C.
Wayne&Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 06:29 AM   #15
Rivet Master
 
68 TWind's Avatar
 
1968 24' Tradewind
Oxford, , Mississippi
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,555
I was at the local Honda dealer last week looking at the new EU3000i model. It comes with wheels and a handle. Very compact and not too bad to lift out of the back of my truck. With the wheels and handle you don't have to carry it, just roll it around. I need a back up for my house to run freezer and fridge in case of power outage as well as way to run my AC when my trailer is down on my farm and the 3000w should work nicely. Only negative is the price. I haven't looked at the various online sites but will.
68 TWind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 07:52 AM   #16
Ready-to-Travel
 
pmclemore's Avatar

 
2012 30' International
Walkerton , Virginia
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,769
My 2400is will not run my 13,500 dometic.

Pat
pmclemore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 08:49 AM   #17
Wise Elder
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,166
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamStreamr View Post
3. you guys have a nice discussion going on running amps and all that. But I haven't seen anyone mention locked rotor amps (lra rating) yet. This is the hard part for the generator if it is sized a little marginally for the loads. It may have the right output to run the appliance, but you gotta start it first and the starting load, or lra, is pretty tough to overcome.
The actual starting amps required are somewhere between the full load (FLA) and locked rotor (LRA) ampere draw, and are weather dependent. Higher ambient temperatures increase the starting amp and running amp requirements.

On the other hand most modern inverter generators can deliver extremely large surge currents compared to conventional designs.

I'm not sure that I buy into the idea that running A/C with a full-load amp draw of 80%-90% of generator capacity will reduce the lifespan of either. A modern inverter generator has excellent voltage regulation so the running voltage should be right in the pocket regardless of load, and the A/C shouldn't be able to tell the difference. As long as the A/C starts OK there shouldn't be a problem.

On the generator side, the question becomes: what limits the useful life of a generator. As long as there is sufficient cooling air and the electronics are kept clean, the life of the gasoline engine should be limiting, and the engine should last more than 1000 hours. The higher RPMs and higher torque associated with an 85% load will shorten the life of the engine, but the $$ per hour are unlikely to double, making it a money losing choice to run two generators with wear and tear on each one.

Besides, experience is that generators are rarely removed from service due to wear and tear from frequent or prolonged use. Loss of confidence due to age, unavailability of service parts, cumulative damage due to exposure to weather, or a changing use case are more common scenarios.
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 11:20 AM   #18
Rivet Master
 
purman's Avatar
 
1968 28' Ambassador
Cedaredge , Colorado
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,542
Ok folks back to the original question here. You getting side tracked. There is a thread for arguments...


To answer the original question. Yes the Yamaha 2000 will do what you want it to do. A 1000 may even do it if you don't run stuff together. You would have to look up the amperage of your microwave to make sure it would run that.

Now if you want to run the A/C the 2400 may do it. You would have to check your A/C

The Honda is also a great unit. The only dif is you can get the Yamaha with the propane kit installed. The honda you have to do it.
__________________
Jason

May you have at least one sunny day, and a soft chair to sit in..

2008 5.7 L V8 Sequoia
AIR # 31243
WBCCI # 6987
FOUR CORNERS UNIT
purman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 12:06 PM   #19
Land Yacht 2016
 
MSiek007's Avatar
 
2016 28' Land Yacht
Rowayton , Connecticut
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13
I have a 2400is and it is not always able to start the ac (11,000 BTU) on my Bambi. The new 2400ishc - high current may be able to work better. I just ordered another 2400is to run in parallel to take care of everything in my bambi. Be advised that the new 2400is's are hc models hat can't be used with a twin cable!!!!!!!!!
There are only a few 2400 is's left in the market place that can be used to parallel.
Great deals for twice the power when needed.
MSiek007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 12:13 PM   #20
4 Rivet Member
 
dstalzer's Avatar
 
2005 25' Classic
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 384
My Yamaha 2400is runs my Dometic 15000 BTU AC and also ran my old coleman 13500 BTU AC along with minimal lights.
__________________

dstalzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My propane Yamaha Generator from US Carburetion TitusLivy Generators & Solar Power 87 12-26-2011 11:01 AM
Yamaha Generator sale knunut Generators & Solar Power 2 01-14-2010 09:37 AM
Generator Report - Yamaha 2400 AirsDream Generators & Solar Power 2 05-30-2009 07:37 AM
Yamaha EF2000iS Generator Airstream 65 Generators & Solar Power 1 05-25-2009 09:08 PM
Yamaha Generator Sale lewster Commercial Listings 6 03-18-2007 04:45 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.