Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-10-2020, 02:52 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

2020 25' Flying Cloud
lake Wales , Florida
Storage box for Honda 2200 and BBQ tank

I am new to Airstream. I am purchasing the Honda e2200i converted to propane (I tow with a SUV). I did not want to carry gas can in SUV or Trailer. I was wondering what folks use to store/carry a combo of BBQ 20gal tank with Honda generator? I think I would stash in the trailer bathroom during travel. But need to study it. Has anyone found a solution?
Flathead1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2020, 03:51 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2007 22' International CCD
Corona , California
Storage box for Honda 2200 and BBQ tank

I adapted the generator propane hose setup to connect to my OEM regulator on the A-frame. Had to bypass the small (high pressure) regulator that goes to a tank directly, and rigged up a connection to the larger (low pressure) regulator that feeds directly to the generator. You may be able to do something similar. That way the propane tanks on the Airstream carry all the fuel.

I have a Champion 3500 watt dual fuel inverter generator. Browse the “which generator” thread for the details of the changes and plumbing I did to make the change. It works great.

Since I run my generator only on propane I can carry it anywhere without worrying about fuel odors. Mine rides just inside the Airstream door tied down or in my pickup truck bed. I can run it while it is on the truck as well.
2012 shortbed CrewMax 4x4 Toyota Tacoma TV with more antennae on it.
rmkrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2020, 03:53 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2014 20' Flying Cloud
Sag Harbor , New York