Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-24-2010, 08:38 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1964 22' Safari
Dayton , Ohio
Starting from Scratch

I'm a newbie needing help with the electrical system in our 64' Safari. I have been researching electrical systems on the internet and read through hundreds of threads trying to figure out how to put this thing together. I have a decent understanding of household electrical systems, but am struggling with the duel power system. My wife and I have a gutted airstream - a blank canvas to work with.

Most of the time we plan on having electrical service available but I want to do this right and design it for dry camping as well.

Should I design it for 30 or 50 amp? Does the convertor determine this or the fuse box you install?

Based on what I've seen, two 6V batteries are better than one 12V. Is this accurate?

What wire should I use for the 120V? What about the 12V?

Am I understanding this right? ... the power comes in to a breaker box. 120V Circuits are controlled via the breakers. A 120V feed also goes to the converter, which is conected to the batteries. The neg. feed from the battery is connected to a negative terminal bar. The positive feed from the battery is connected to a fuse panel. The 12v circuits have two wires - one positve and one negative. One of the wires goes to the negative terminal bar, the other to the fuse pannel.

Is there a book that explains this steb by step?

Thanks for any help.
Mike&Ali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 08:49 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1956 22' Flying Cloud
1953 32' Liner
1955 22' Safari
Valley View , Texas
Send a message via Skype™ to Melody Ranch
this is a beginning

Airstream Converter Change-over
The 12volt Side of Life (Part 1)
Samlex Solar Energy Products

Romex 12 3 for the 110
12 guage black and white wire. Black hot, white for ground