Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-19-2015, 11:09 AM   #1

Starting Fresh With Gutted Argosy

Hi. I'm renovating a 1978 30' Argosy. It's being gutted and I want to replace everything due to water damage, rust, old age, etc.

My problem is that I have no prior electrical experience and have no idea what I need to order to go into the Argosy to get the electric running.

I need everything. Converter, Inverter, Batteries, Wires, Panels, everything. We haven't had any luck finding an electrician to help and I haven't found a list of everything that needs to go in or how to do it.

I've been researching on bestconverter.com and have emailed Randy as well hoping he can give me a list of what to order and install.

Thanks for any help!

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAirstream Forums1426784918.442407.jpg
Views:	291
Size:	88.5 KB
ID:	234548
akallena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 12:59 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1973 21' Globetrotter
Houston , Texas
Welcome to the Forums!

If you have no knowledge of electrical systems and can't find anyone to help you, start by educating yourself. Your trailer has two electrical systems in it, a 12 DC system that will run the lights, celing fans, and water pump, and a 120V AC system that powers the heavy items (refrigerator, airconditioner, electric side of a water heater, etc.) and the wall outlets.