Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2017, 04:46 PM   #1
2017 FC 28 Twin
 
Plymouth , Indiana
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 82
Setting up a Victron 700 help

I'm not schooled at all in the battery monitoring situation I am currently researching, I have read the manual and believe I have the Victron set right but not sure it's just seems to be very confusing if you don't fully understand the system but this is what I have. 2 Lifeline GPL-24T batts, each with a nominal volt of 12 v, amp hr capacity @ 20 hrs of 80, bulk charge of 14.2-14.4 volts @77* float charge 13.2-13.4 volts @77* now with that info does anyone know what I should have my Victron 700 set at regarding all the settings any help would be appreciated, I also may not have all the info you guys need but just ask, Thank You
__________________

__________________
2017 FC 28 w/ Shocker hitch
2014 RAM 3500 4x4 mega cab drw
Dragline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 05:53 PM   #2
Half a Rivet Short
 
2017 30' Classic
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 8,676
Hi

First question should be: "is the Victron wired up correctly?"

How do you have it hooked up?

Bob
__________________

uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2017, 05:54 AM   #3
2017 FC 28 Twin
 
Plymouth , Indiana
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 82
Dealer wired in behind the converter per this forum I ran a separate ground wire to the shunt so the reading are true.
__________________
2017 FC 28 w/ Shocker hitch
2014 RAM 3500 4x4 mega cab drw
Dragline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2017, 08:50 AM   #4
Half a Rivet Short
 
2017 30' Classic
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 8,676
Hi

I'm guessing we're talking about:

https://www.victronenergy.com/upload...-series-EN.pdf

and the shunt on it.

The manufacturer is pretty clear here:

https://www.victronenergy.com/blog/2...ttery-monitor/

that the shunt must go directly to the battery post with nothing else going to that battery post. If it is not wired that way, it will "miss" some of what's going on. That will make it inaccurate. Yes, this gets messed up on a lot of installs.

Bob
uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2017, 10:47 AM   #5
2017 FC 28 Twin
 
Plymouth , Indiana
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 82
My understanding also is that the shunt needs to be out of the weather as well I have moved it to the front of the unit where the wires are coming into the trailer and have it wired as the video shows, luckily the readout cable was/is plenty long enough
__________________
2017 FC 28 w/ Shocker hitch
2014 RAM 3500 4x4 mega cab drw
Dragline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2017, 10:58 AM   #6
Half a Rivet Short
 
2017 30' Classic
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 8,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragline View Post
My understanding also is that the shunt needs to be out of the weather as well I have moved it to the front of the unit where the wires are coming into the trailer and have it wired as the video shows, luckily the readout cable was/is plenty long enough
Hi

Did you get the temperature monitor probe?

Bob
uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2017, 11:14 AM   #7
2017 FC 28 Twin
 
Plymouth , Indiana
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 82
No temp probe
__________________
2017 FC 28 w/ Shocker hitch
2014 RAM 3500 4x4 mega cab drw
Dragline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2017, 06:47 AM   #8
Half a Rivet Short
 
2017 30' Classic
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 8,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragline View Post
No temp probe
Hi

Knowing the battery temperature is *very* helpful if you are trying to work out what you system's capacity actually is. The gotcha with the shunt based approach is that battery capacity goes up by ~20% between 70F and 120F. It drops 20% by the time you get to freezing. The monitor *assumes* capacity is constant. Throw in 20% errors and it gets out of whack pretty fast. The temperature probe does not completely eliminate the errors, it just lets you see *why* things are weird. The bigger issue with temperature is charging. If you are going to put in a monitor probe, you probably should put in a probe for the charger as well. It's a pain so it's worth just doing all the nonsense once.

So getting back to settings, without the probe, the voltage numbers aren't going to be something I'd worry about. Just program the 80 amp hours and the lead acid defaults into the device and move on.

Bob
uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2017, 01:32 PM   #9
2017 FC 28 Twin
 
Plymouth , Indiana
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 82
I want to make sure I'm getting the best bang from it so I'm following your advice Thank You
__________________

__________________
2017 FC 28 w/ Shocker hitch
2014 RAM 3500 4x4 mega cab drw
Dragline is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1969 Magic Chef Oven Model TL 700-2? CJ of Okla 1965-1969 Sovereign 1 04-09-2017 11:31 AM
Proper tire size. 700/15? 6ply Zstream Tires 7 03-09-2011 11:33 AM
700-15 vs. ST225/75/15 chuman70 Tires 7 07-20-2007 04:52 AM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.