Old 09-18-2020, 11:44 PM   #1

2017 27' Flying Cloud
Seattle , Washington
question about hooking up to a friend's house

Newbie here, setting off on our first trip. We have a 27 foot FC. I bought a 50 amp female to 30 Amp male dog bone. We will use a Surge Protector. My question is, should I buy a 50 amp female to 20 amp male adaptor to hook up to my friend's power? Or is there an advantage to using 2 dog bones to drop down to 20 amp house power? The AS dealer guy suggested 2 dog bones (with the surge protector) would drag onto the ground (not ideal). Searching around it seems that most people choose this double dog bone solution versus dropping from 50 amp directly to 20/15. I don't know much about electricity so I'm cautious with these things -- any advice? Thank you!v
beckys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2020, 05:23 AM   #2
3 Rivet Member

2019 22' Sport
2020 23' Flying Cloud
Sebastian , Florida
Most people think in terms of source to user. Your trailer is 50 A, so a 30 to 50 A and a 20 To 50 A will cover you. Having those or linking a 20-30 to a 30-50, either way you are carrying two dogbones.
An unfortunate and costly moochdocking mistake is to plug a 30 A adapter into a 230 V dryer outlet. Don’t do it!
GetawA-S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2020, 09:37 AM   #3
Rivet Master

2008 27' International FB
Petaluma , California