Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-17-2020, 06:40 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2021 28' Flying Cloud
Venice , FL
Power Strips

Greetings!

We are preparing to become digital nomads in our 28' Flying Cloud. We get our trailer next month. We are complete newbies and everything is new.

My work set up for my accounting work will be a 3-monitor setup consisting of a laptop and 2 slave monitors. As I am working to figure out my power needs, I started thinking about power strips and wondered what impact different power strips have on power usage. I have a lot to learn about basic electricity in terms of power management in our trailer. And so I'm now beginning the process of gaining that knowledge.

Right now I have a power strip that has 12 plugs and I'm only using 4 of them. When I'm working in the trailer, I need a strip to power my 4 devices, which are a laptop, 2 slave monitors and an adding machine.

The initial question that came into my mind is what impact having a strip plugged in to an A/C outlet in the trailer with so many unused plugs might have on electricity usage. Would it cause extra drain on the onboard batteries? And then another thing I don't know about is how the joule rating of different strips affects electricity usage.

I think all of this might be considered part of Electricity 101. Obviously, I want a strip set up that will give me the power I need without using more of my capacity than I need during the work day.

I would be very grateful for any guidance that I can get to facilitate a successful setup of my work station in the trailer.

Thank you so much!
wsomach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 07:15 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2007 22' International CCD
Corona , California
A power strip does not consume any power on it’s own unless it has a pilot light on it.