Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-22-2006, 09:17 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1970 25' Caravanner
Rutherfordton , North Carolina
Talking new member Steve sr

I am a new member and I have a 1970 airstream that I have been working on for about 1-1/2 years. I live in the foothills of western North Carolina in Rutherford County, the site of this years 2006 HGTV Dream Home and also where the movie Dirty Dancing was filmed.
I have been married for 40 years come June, with two childern and four grandchildern. I will be retairing with in the next year. We have never owned a camper, but I have always wanted an Airstream and have told my wife if I find a bargan I would buy it and restor it. I like to fix thinks and make them better and I fill like the Airstream will be one of my biggest challanges. We also have a 1940 Ford Street Rod that we have had for over twenty years, but has only been on the road for eight years. We belong to the NSRA and go to the National shows several time a year. We plan on going to some of the Airstream rallys when we get on the road.

On my Airstream I have replaced the rubber seals on every window and still have two leaks. Plus there is a leak on the inside left of exterior door. The door leak is coming through a inside pannel joint, so I am thinking I have a seam leaking some where above the door on the out side. The owning above the door is very old and will be replaced some time but I wonder if the leak is coming from it.

Every things I have done to my 170 Airstream is listed below.

Removed two layers of carpet from the floor. (I have hard wood to go down).

Fixed all interior lights and exterior lights around door.

Tented all windows and new seals.

The Airstream factory repaired my door lock and I replaced the seal.

Made new counter tops and laminte for cabinet, new hinges.