RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2018, 02:31 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
2018 27' Globetrotter
Japser , Georgia
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 45
Making Outlet Box for 30 AMP

Electrical stuff is not my strong suite. I have a question. Is it possible to purchase a 30AMP extension cord (25ft), cut off the female plug and wire it to an outlet box with one or two 15AMP receptacles? I was thinking of creating this extension cord with outlets so I could plug in some appliances (slow cooker, coffee pot, hotplate, etc - not all at once) on a table outside of the trailer. Plugging it into the campsite 30AMP receptacle. I searched he forums but could not find anything.

Any ideas, suggestions or words of wisdom welcome.
__________________
Gary Collier
2019 Globetrotter
2018 F250 Lariat
Jasper, GA (North of Atlanta)
garypilot55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 03:21 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
2016 30' International
redondo beach , California
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 527
Google 30A to 15A adaptor.
There are many.
__________________
Randy and Beth 15 F250, 16 30' International, ProPride, Dexter 3" lift, Michelin 16, Dill TPMS, Centramatics, Battleborn x4, Victron BMV and 1.2KW inverter, Orion DC/DC, BlueSolar MPPT, 300W solar, Alpine iLX, Polk MM1, Samsung smart 42"
mythbuster88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 03:39 PM   #3
kpm
3 Rivet Member
 
2018 25' International
Mound , Minnesota
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by mythbuster88 View Post
Google 30A to 15A adaptor.
There are many.
So for example, you could use this Camco PowerGrip 30A Male 15A Female adapter with a standard extension cord for your 120V appliances. No wiring required
kpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 04:11 PM   #4
Half a Rivet Short
 
2017 30' Classic
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 9,061
Hi

If you want to go *from* a 30A circuit *to* a 15A circuit, you will need to have breakers or fuses involved. The 30A breaker on the 30A circuit will not protect the wiring on a 15A circuit. You can go *from* 15A up *to* 30A with no problem. The 15A breaker will protect a 30A wire.

So simple (or maybe not so simple) approach is to get a small electrical panel box at your local big box store and put the breakers in it. Then mount the outlet(s) as you see fit. There is still a basic issue that the boxes normally are not watertight. Getting that part of it taken care of would require a bit more work.

Bob
uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 04:57 PM   #5
kpm
3 Rivet Member
 
2018 25' International
Mound , Minnesota
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by kpm View Post
So for example, you could use this Camco PowerGrip 30A Male 15A Female adapter with a standard extension cord for your 120V appliances. No wiring required
Whoops my mistake. Bob is right. If you use this adapter, you would have to protect the 15A side with a circuit breaker or fused extension cord.
kpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 07:02 PM   #6
Site Team
 
azflycaster's Avatar

 
2002 25' Safari
Dewey , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 14,296
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1
Why not get a heavy duty extension cord and plug it into the outside outlet on the trailer or the 15 amp outlet on the post at the campground?
__________________

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 08:11 PM   #7
Half a Rivet Short
 
2017 30' Classic
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 9,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by kpm View Post
Whoops my mistake. Bob is right. If you use this adapter, you would have to protect the 15A side with a circuit breaker or fused extension cord.
Hi

The other 99.9% of my posts are telling people they are going to crazy with fuses ....

Bob
uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 10:23 PM   #8
2 Rivet Member
 
2018 27' Globetrotter
Japser , Georgia
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by azflycaster View Post
Why not get a heavy duty extension cord and plug it into the outside outlet on the trailer or the 15 amp outlet on the post at the campground?
I was fearful of overloading the outlet on the trailer.
The last campground where we stayed only had a 50 and 30 AMP outlets. No 15.
__________________
Gary Collier
2019 Globetrotter
2018 F250 Lariat
Jasper, GA (North of Atlanta)
garypilot55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 10:25 PM   #9
2 Rivet Member
 
2018 27' Globetrotter
Japser , Georgia
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by kpm View Post
Whoops my mistake. Bob is right. If you use this adapter, you would have to protect the 15A side with a circuit breaker or fused extension cord.
So if I use the adapter and this extension cord it should work.
https://www.lowes.com/pd/Over-Load-G...reaker/1135905
__________________
Gary Collier
2019 Globetrotter
2018 F250 Lariat
Jasper, GA (North of Atlanta)
garypilot55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2018, 07:19 AM   #10
kpm
3 Rivet Member
 
2018 25' International
Mound , Minnesota
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by garypilot55 View Post
So if I use the adapter and this extension cord it should work.
https://www.lowes.com/pd/Over-Load-G...reaker/1135905
Yep this one should work. The 15A breaker on the cord matches with the 15A rating of the adapter.
kpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2018, 08:30 AM   #11
Rivet Master
 
A W Warn's Avatar

 
2000 25' Safari
1999 34' Excella
Davidson County , NC Highlands County, FL
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,324
Quote:
Originally Posted by garypilot55 View Post
So if I use the adapter and this extension cord it should work.
https://www.lowes.com/pd/Over-Load-G...reaker/1135905
It will work. But, it depends on the appliance that is connected to determine if it will be satisfactory for its intended use. A 15 amp circuit is good for a little less than 1,500 watts (assuming ~80% continuous load).

~120v x 15 amps = ~1,800 watts max peak load
1,800 watts x 80% = 1,440 watts max continuous load

If voltage is higher or lower also affects this number.
Voltage will vary. (other users use, distance from source, utility's norm, etc.)

ps:
The 12 gauge wire is good for ~20 amps. Use the same math to determine suitability.
The coffee pot and hot plate at the same time might be a no go.

ps2:
When you use an extension cord this way, you might want to consider shock hazard. Ground fault protection is needed.
__________________
Alan
2014 Silverado LTZ 1500 Crew Cab 5.3L maximum trailering package
A W Warn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2018, 08:53 AM   #12
Half a Rivet Short
 
2017 30' Classic
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 9,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by garypilot55 View Post
So if I use the adapter and this extension cord it should work.
https://www.lowes.com/pd/Over-Load-G...reaker/1135905
Hi

It might work for a while. My experience with similar devices has been in the "not good" category.

=====

The 15A outlet on your trailer already has everything done right for supplying power. Unless you have a bunch of stuff turned on (like the AC) you are not going to overload things or create an issue. Making sure the trailer is power down is pretty easy ....

Bob
uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2018, 09:03 AM   #13
Rivet Master
 
waninae39's Avatar

 
2017 22' Sport
NCR , Ontario
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,369
another option
connect a 15 or 20A line from the house to a new external box, add the std 30A socket with a weather proof cap

i would wire the box to an inside GFI outlet

You will now have a 30A plug, BUT with only 15/20 capability on a share inside breaker

all long as you are aware of this limitation, you can use your standard chord set at home, without having to add a new 30 A circuit to the home breaker panel
waninae39 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2018, 11:41 AM   #14
Rivet Master
 
greghoro's Avatar
 
2013 25' Flying Cloud
Wheaton , Illinois
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 540
Perhaps I missed something, but I'm confused.


With the 30A extension that you make up plugged into the 30A receptacle in the campsite pedestal, where are you going to plug in your trailer?



Is your trailer 50A? If so, what will you do when you go to a campground that deosn't have 50A?





Greg
greghoro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2018, 02:40 PM   #15
2 Rivet Member
 
2018 27' Globetrotter
Japser , Georgia
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by greghoro View Post
Perhaps I missed something, but I'm confused.


With the 30A extension that you make up plugged into the 30A receptacle in the campsite pedestal, where are you going to plug in your trailer?

Is your trailer 50A? If so, what will you do when you go to a campground that deosn't have 50A?

Greg

I still would plug my trailer into the pedestal outlet. This was to use as an extra extension cord for outside appliances if needed when there is an additional 30A receptacle. Sorry for the confusion.
__________________
Gary Collier
2019 Globetrotter
2018 F250 Lariat
Jasper, GA (North of Atlanta)
garypilot55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2018, 02:44 PM   #16
2 Rivet Member
 
2018 27' Globetrotter
Japser , Georgia
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 45
Thanks for everyone's insight and knowledge. That's what makes this forum great. I've decided to utilize the trailer receptacle and see if it works okay. If I encounter any issues or need an additional plug, I'll get the 30A to 15A adapter and use an extension cord with a circuit breaker to protect the appliances.
__________________
Gary Collier
2019 Globetrotter
2018 F250 Lariat
Jasper, GA (North of Atlanta)
garypilot55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2018, 08:12 AM   #17
Half a Rivet Short
 
2017 30' Classic
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 9,061
Hi

Consider that most pedestals have a single feed to them. Running full capacity, it will handle the 50A socket. Plug in a full 50A load and a full 30A load .... you trip that up steam breaker. Since the 30A is on one side or the other of the 50A's circuit, the fact that you get 100A at 120V from the 50A outlet does not help as much in this case.

Bob
uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2018, 08:33 AM   #18
Rivet Master
 
greghoro's Avatar
 
2013 25' Flying Cloud
Wheaton , Illinois
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 540
Check your breakers in the trailer, you may have 20A capacity. Mine does. However, the outside receptacle is only rated for 15A (it doesn't have that T opening for the 20A plug) which is easily replaced.


Ace hardware has a Black Friday 50% off coupon at the door for one non-sale item $30 or less. You can pick up a nice 12 gauge 25' extension cord for a bargain. Or a heavy duty 3 way adapter. I'm not aware that they track these (maybe if you use an Ace rewards card), so multiple visits throughout the day can result in some great buys.




Greg
greghoro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2018, 09:08 AM   #19
Rivet Master
 
Mollysdad's Avatar

 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
Tampa , Florida
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 5,226
Blog Entries: 1
This is a great site for learning on how to overdo simple things.
I'm guilty too.
However, in this case you just are looking for an extension cord to get from the 30 amp pedestal to a couple of 15 amp outlets.
So what you propose is fine.
Buy a 30 amp cord and replace the 30 amp female with a dual 15 box. Or buy a really stout 15 amp contractor's cord and replace the 15 amp male with a 30 amp male. (my choice)
Everyone doesn't put circuit breakers in extension cords.
It will be hard to melt a 10 ga, 25' cord with a couple of 15 amp appliances.
How about:
https://www.amazon.com/ProStar-Condu...D7T5BFKEHKKN8H
Mollysdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2018, 09:23 AM   #20
Half a Rivet Short
 
2017 30' Classic
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 9,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mollysdad View Post
This is a great site for learning on how to overdo simple things.
I'm guilty too.
However, in this case you just are looking for an extension cord to get from the 30 amp pedestal to a couple of 15 amp outlets.
So what you propose is fine.
Buy a 30 amp cord and replace the 30 amp female with a dual 15 box. Or buy a really stout 15 amp contractor's cord and replace the 15 amp male with a 30 amp male. (my choice)
Everyone doesn't put circuit breakers in extension cords.
It will be hard to melt a 10 ga, 25' cord with a couple of 15 amp appliances.
How about:
https://www.amazon.com/ProStar-Condu...D7T5BFKEHKKN8H
Hi

Once you go to number 10 wire in the cord, you are legit for 30A (if it's copper, I'd bet at least a six pack that it's cheap / crap aluminum). The gotcha then becomes the connectors. Indeed I *have* seen those melt. You also have a risk in the cord that runs to the appliance its self. By far the most likely failure is when somebody crushes a cord by dropping something on it ... been there ... done that ... a 30A circuit sparks a lot ....

How big a deal is any of this? It's way past most of the "put another fuse here / breaker there" debates. It also is (very much to your point) not something that is likely to cause massive destruction any time soon. Carefully done once a year for 15 minutes, mighty low risk. Better to worry about a meteor strike ....

Bob
uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50 Amp to 30 Amp adapter to 20 Amp outlet?? Reynolds Our Community 15 08-04-2017 08:16 AM
1973 electrical outlet box source Bauxter Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 10 12-08-2014 04:04 PM
I have 3 boxes of assorted parts from my airstream 59 Tradewind, I would like to sell by the box for 300.00 per box or best offer per box 59as Airstream Classifieds 0 09-19-2014 12:01 PM
Need advice on 30 amp outlet box RLS Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 12 05-29-2009 10:56 AM
outlet box depth tinbender Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 10 02-27-2008 08:04 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.