Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-27-2020, 03:47 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1960 26' Overlander
Denver , Colorado
Lost in translation

I’m a novice (you know nothing Jon Snow) owner of a 1960 Overlander Land Yacht. Originally, the point was to find a trailer of any brand to remodel. I didn’t yet know the magic of airstreams. I certainly never intended to completely renovate a trailer. But one mysterious Facebook market place ad later and poof, I’m an airstream Junkie. (The owner had taken down the posting a month ago and it was deleted, she double checked. Some things are meant to be.) Needless to reiterate the common knowledge that each older airstream is a bottomless pit of more projects to complete. It’s been an adventure of learning. Electrical however, hahaha...HA!... is just laughing at me. The more I learn the more I realize I am clueless.
So here’s a basic run down of where I am at right meow!

I finally figured out:

1. How to check the continuity of the wires. Most everything had already been dismantled. So I had to take 26’ of stranded wire, splice it to the wires throughout and use that as the negative conductor to check with the multimeter. Score!! Most of them work!
Click image for larger version

Name:	Adjustments.JPG
Views:	62
Size:	208.2 KB
ID:	360030Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3138.JPG
Views:	72
Size:	582.2 KB
ID:	360031Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2959.JPG
Views:	34
Size:	477.3 KB
ID:	360032

2. You have a better chance of finding detailed pictures or the Lochness monster than a 1960 electrical diagram of the OG system. Why? Because Airstream didn’t make manuals until 1964.... but has no one else made one as they updated their own? Hmm? Is it really that elusive?

Wait! Found it!!!

Name:	IMG_3424.JPG
Views:	36
Size:	204.5 KB
ID:	360033

You’re welcome!