Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-07-2005, 09:48 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1975 31' Sovereign
Morristown , Indiana
"Let there be LIGHT...and there was no light !!!!

Tidings from Morristown IN.

I'm a rookie trying to check out my newly acquired '75 31ft. rear bath Land Yacht. OK, a few days ago I plugged in the outside cord to 120V. Well I didn't have any lights inside. I heard this humming sound near the bath. So I assumed it was the Univolt system talked about in my owners manual. Now the dc battery in the dude had been in there for 10 years of storage. So I charged up a fairly new Wally World car battery that I had around here with a 10 amp charger. I installed this into the battery compartment and BINGO. I had interior light, radio etc. Now getting to the point finally, huff puff, I had left the cord plugged into my 120V. Today when I went into the trailer to try to get my Fridge going. NO LIGHTS....NADA.