Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-08-2015, 12:08 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member
 
2004 22' International CCD
2015 30' International
Box Elder , South Dakota
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 185
Just one television electric socket? Really?

I just bought a Roku and tried to attach it to the flat panel in my new (2015) Airstream. There is what looks like a standard 2-outlet socket there on the wall, plus another for the inverter. But only one of the two sockets actually works. The other one is fake! Just molded plastic. What's going on?!
Can I have an electrician replace it with a standard socket, or is there some secret reason why I can't have two 115v plugs there?

__________________

lbdesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 12:29 AM   #2
Rivet Master

 
2007 22' International CCD
Corona , California
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7,909
On some of these 'fake' sockets, you can kill the power, and open up the thin plastic blank to find a complete socket under there. Then you can use it.

Be doubly darn sure all power is off on the trailer including 12volt to the inverter, and switch the breakers off as well. Getting zapped is no fun. Don't ask me why I know this...


Sent from my pocket Internet using Airstream Forums
__________________

__________________
Rich, KE4GNK/AE, Overkill Engineering Dept.
'The Silver HamShack' ('07 International 22FB CCD 75th Anniversary)
Multiple Yaesu Ham Radios inside and many antennae sprouting from roof, ProPride hitch, Prodigy P2 controller.
2012 shortbed CrewMax 4x4 Toyota Tacoma TV with more antennae on it.
rmkrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 02:24 AM   #3
Rivet Master
 
SteveSueMac's Avatar

 
2012 27' Flying Cloud
W , New England
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,397
Or just get some of these

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00K8A...let+multiplier
SteveSueMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 04:30 AM   #4
CLOUDSPLITTER "Tahawus"
 
ROBERT CROSS's Avatar

 
2003 25' Classic
Zanadude Nebula , Milky Way
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 14,881
Images: 1
Wink

Or....maybe it's there for a reason.......like, umm... they really would rather you didn't plug two things into the really high quality inverter?

Bob
__________________
"Any nation that can survive what we have lately in the way of government, is on the high road to permanent glory."
Molly Ivins

"Instead of going to ’Starbucks…I make my own Coffee at home, yell out my name rong, then light a five dollar bill on fire"
Amanamus


Tahawus....🌥
ROBERT CROSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 06:47 AM   #5
Rivet Master
 
Wayne&Sam's Avatar
 
2014 25' Flying Cloud
Cuddebackville , New York
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3,699
Images: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROBERT CROSS View Post
Or....maybe it's there for a reason.......like, umm... they really would rather you didn't plug two things into the really high quality inverter?

Bob
Except on mine there didn't seem to be any rhyme or reason to which outlet was double and which was single. I had both on the inverter circuits and regular circuits. I had the single changed on warranty.
__________________
2014 25' Flying Cloud Rear Twin
2019 Ford Expedition Platinum
Wayne&Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 07:56 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
AStreamNerds's Avatar
 
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
Manassas , Virginia
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 562
Images: 6
I had the same issue with the outlets...

Amazon.com: QVS PPRT-ADPT2 12-Inch 3-Prong Outlet Saver Splitter Power Adapter with 90-Degrees Flat Plug: Electronics

I used one of the above when I installed the AppleTV's behind our screens...

__________________
Our Website: https://airstreamnerds.com/

You Tube Channel "Airstream Nerds": https://www.youtube.com/airstreamnerds

Find Us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AirstreamNerd/
AStreamNerds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 12:07 PM   #7
1 Rivet Member
 
2016 28' Flying Cloud
Frostproof , Florida
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 8
plug

All you need do is go to walmart and buy a 4 or 6 gang plug and plug in outlet or yes the bottom plug is hot, just use a razor knife or a screwdriver to slightly open the plastic and push a plug through. I did this on my 2016 flying cloud. The blank on the inverter is hot too, on inverter.
Joe Zednick
jczednick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 12:45 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
TBRich's Avatar

 
2006 19' Safari SE
Tucson , Arizona
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,619
Images: 64
QUOTE=SteveSueMac;1694458]Or just get some of these

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00K8A...let+multiplier[ QUOTE]

That's what we did. Easy fix ... plus you can use it elsewhere when needed, even in regular plugs.
__________________
TB & Greg and Abbey Schnauzer
AirForums #21900 . Membership Chair & PastPrez, 4CU/WBCCI
#3954
Travel Log: AZBambi...On the Road Again
TBRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 12:48 PM   #9
3 Rivet Member
 
wareaglewalt's Avatar
 
2017 25' Flying Cloud
Bushnell , Florida
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 105
Blog Entries: 1
Speaking of AppleTV, how do you use yours? I was considering using ours to stream video via AirPlay from iPhone. AppleTV needs a wireless network for this, but I'm thinking not necessarily an internet connection. So possibly I could use an inexpensive wireless router and set up a wireless network to satisfy the AppleTV but not have a connection to the internet. How do others use a video streaming player like AppleTV, Roku, etc. without an internet connection?
wareaglewalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 02:01 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
Wayne&Sam's Avatar
 
2014 25' Flying Cloud
Cuddebackville , New York
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3,699
Images: 21
I have a router in the Airstream for my rearview camera. I've used it as a local network for AirDrop
__________________
2014 25' Flying Cloud Rear Twin
2019 Ford Expedition Platinum
Wayne&Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 04:20 PM   #11
2 Rivet Member
 
stsammy's Avatar
 
2015 22' FB Sport
Toronto , Ontario
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 64
My understanding is that the newest version of the Apple TV can tether over Bluetooth, so no wifi required.

I'm going to laugh at myself when my trailer has newer generation tech than my house.
stsammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 11:06 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
AStreamNerds's Avatar
 
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
Manassas , Virginia
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 562
Images: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by wareaglewalt View Post
Speaking of AppleTV, how do you use yours? I was considering using ours to stream video via AirPlay from iPhone. AppleTV needs a wireless network for this, but I'm thinking not necessarily an internet connection. So possibly I could use an inexpensive wireless router and set up a wireless network to satisfy the AppleTV but not have a connection to the internet. How do others use a video streaming player like AppleTV, Roku, etc. without an internet connection?
Check this thread out - http://www.airforums.com/forums/f450...ml#post1687379

I posted all of the info needed to use the AppleTV with Airplay...and yes you no longer need a wifi network for Airplay to work. All you need is the latest model AppleTV3 (model A1469 - number on bottom) and an ipad/iphone. As long as both devices have the latest update Airplay works just fine without the need of network connection of any kind.
__________________
Our Website: https://airstreamnerds.com/

You Tube Channel "Airstream Nerds": https://www.youtube.com/airstreamnerds

Find Us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AirstreamNerd/
AStreamNerds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 12:53 AM   #13
Rivet Master
 
gandttimes's Avatar
 
2014 25' FB International
2007 20' Safari SE
2005 19' Safari
Qualicum Beach , British Columbia
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 997
Sure is amazing how these threads get hijacked. Just getting interested in the answers to the OP's topic, and away we go.


George
gandttimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 06:57 AM   #14
Rivet Master
 
Msmoto's Avatar

 
2015 30' International
2009 27' FB International
2007 25' Safari
Currently Looking...
Greensboro , North Carolina
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,559
Images: 135
The answer to the OP

I have simply broken away the thin plastic which covers the connections behind the outlet cover. In the bedroom I run my external speakers for my television, in the living room, usually plug my computer in.

My guess about the "why" of this being filled in with plastic may be a liability issue as the height of socket, easy accessibility to anyone sitting in the dinette, especially children, may be of concern for the legal bean counters at Jackson Center.

For those who have not removed a socket from the wall, AS uses an "inline" configuration, the duplex sockets simply being pushed over the stripped insulation with out actually cutting the feed wire.

This is my guess today...
__________________
Happy trails and Good Luck
Ms Tommie Fantine Lauer, Greensboro, NC
AIR #31871 K4MTL

www.fantinesvoice.com
Msmoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 07:41 AM   #15
3 Rivet Member
 
wareaglewalt's Avatar
 
2017 25' Flying Cloud
Bushnell , Florida
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 105
Blog Entries: 1
So sorry, George. I have been looking into this AppleTV solution and when Roku box was mentioned, I thought they might help me with my situation. Just call it a sub-thread. These threads don't tend to get very long anyway.
wareaglewalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 01:07 PM   #16
Rivet Master
 
AStreamNerds's Avatar
 
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
Manassas , Virginia
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 562
Images: 6
I guess I helped move it In another direction too...
__________________
Our Website: https://airstreamnerds.com/

You Tube Channel "Airstream Nerds": https://www.youtube.com/airstreamnerds

Find Us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AirstreamNerd/
AStreamNerds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 03:03 PM   #17
Rivet Master
 
Jim Foster's Avatar
 
1965 17' Caravel
1983 27' Excella
Walnut Grove/Laguna Woods , California
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,623
Send a message via Yahoo to Jim Foster
Quote:
Originally Posted by wareaglewalt View Post
Speaking of AppleTV, how do you use yours? I was considering using ours to stream video via AirPlay from iPhone. AppleTV needs a wireless network for this, but I'm thinking not necessarily an internet connection. So possibly I could use an inexpensive wireless router and set up a wireless network to satisfy the AppleTV but not have a connection to the internet. How do others use a video streaming player like AppleTV, Roku, etc. without an internet connection?
We use an old Netgear 3G Broadband Wireless Router MBR624GU That we bought many years ago when we used an AT&T Aircard for internet access. I stream from my iPhone and we use it to connect to our Epson wireless printer both in the trailer and at home. Very handy. No internet connection required.

If you are on a data plan, such as Verizon, and you connect to your
AppleTV or printer using your iPhone as a hot spot or your MIFI, the connection will use your data plan when transferring data to those devices. Using a WIFI router with no internet connection is a better deal for those with earlier AppleTV without bluetooth, or when printing or scanning. Scanning uses a load of data.










a
__________________
Past President, El Camino Real Unit WBCCI#6620
Street Rod Builder (see avatar)
Kite flier (check out links below)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bp3nuNtlZcA&t=331s
https://www.youtube.com/my_videos?feature=mhee
Jim Foster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 06:39 PM   #18
3 Rivet Member
 
2004 22' International CCD
2015 30' International
Box Elder , South Dakota
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 185
Regarding streaming video to the TV, if you have a Roku product, you can use Plex to stream video files stored on your laptop to the TV. Plex is an app you can run on the Roku, and on your laptop to feed videos to it.
lbdesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 06:43 PM   #19
3 Rivet Member
 
2004 22' International CCD
2015 30' International
Box Elder , South Dakota
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 185
Thanks for everyone's suggestions on the covered electrical socket. I have asked the dealer to confirm with his factory rep that there is power in there before I cut into it. I took it apart partway and it does look like there are two identical power lines, one for each plug in the 2-plug socket. It's just annoying and inelegant to have to hack away at a plug.
If AS had a liability issue, they could have used the kind of sliding covers for sockets that are common in houses with young children.

That branching power cord with the 90° plug is also nice.
And I do realize I can put a plug multiplier on it, but I want to keep the appearance as simple and close to the wall as possible...
__________________

lbdesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions on replacing exterior outlet, reflector, & mystery electric socket dgreen78 Lights - Interior & Exterior 3 08-04-2014 12:17 PM
Really, really new!! Globeville Member Introductions 6 08-20-2007 03:33 PM
Mounting television bracket on black television shelf PWRSTRK Audio, Video & TV 3 04-24-2005 02:04 PM
Really, Really, Really Hot swebster Airstream Motorhome Forums 8 11-16-2003 08:46 PM
Really really great site and Airstream FrankR On The Road... 5 07-14-2002 02:10 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.