Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-29-2012, 03:58 PM   #1

Portland , Oregon
In Need of: 1959 Overlander Electrical Schematic

hello!
i am a newbie to the airstream world and recently purchased a 1959 overlander. i am looking forward to renovating it. i'm desiring to re-wire the trailer and am wondering if anyone has an original wiring diagram for the trailer?

i have some friends who are skilled electricians that will help me do the job, but i'd like to provide them with what is currently in the trailer.

any resources, direction or advice would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance for your help! i love seeing the community care on the forum. hopefully one day i'll be able to help someone on here with their questions!

rachel
OLandy59RKS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 05:00 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1959 26' Overlander
Nowhere , Washington
I don't have a schematic, but can tell you the wiring is impossible to re-do without gutting the trailer and taking the interior skins down. All the wiring - 12v and 110v is run behind the interior skins through the ribs (with grommets protecting the wires). When I took mine apart, I found that the junctions were all butterfly'd together without junction boxes. The work was well-done and none of the connections were loose, but it makes it impossible to simply pull a run of wire from box to box.