Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-17-2013, 06:53 PM   #1

Kingsville , Texas
Home Electric Hookup

I'm installing a 30 amp circuit in my home's electric box in order to plug in my 2007 23' AS Safari. My electric guy tells me that it should be a simple matter of replacing an existing 50 amp circuit in the electric box (which the previous home owner used for a welding rig) with the appropriate 30 amp circuit. This circuit is wired to a receptacle on the other side of my house (where I have a parking area for the trailer). He will replace that receptacle with a plug that will accommodate my trailer's electric cable. I should then be able to plug the trailer into the side of my house for full electrical power.

This seems logical and straightforward to me, but I'm no electric expert. Does anyone see any problem with this setup? Thanks in advance.
Travelizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 07:01 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
Only let the electrician do it if he understands that the 30 amp RV outlet is a 120 volt unit only, and have him demonstrate, to you in person, with a meter, that there is only 120 volts between the two angled slots in the outlet. Only then are you sure he has done it right.

There have been several reports here on the Forums from people who have had someone do the job for them, and when they plugged their rig in, they toasted everything inside as the outlet was wired for 240 volts, not 120.

Since you are starting with a 240 volt outlet, there is even a higher danger that it could be mis wired.
idroba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 07:03 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1983 34' Excella
1967 24' Tradewind
Little Rock , Arkansas
Quote:
Originally Posted by idroba View Post