Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2013, 01:54 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
2012 25' International
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 38
Help! No Electrical Power inside 2012 A/S Int.

Have a 30 amp plugged into my A/S the power light indicator is on but everything is dead inside. Breakers are on. What am I missing?

Thanks in advance!

Tom in Austin
__________________

h8rain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 01:56 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,591
Is the use/store switch in the Use position?
__________________

idroba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 02:06 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member
 
2012 25' International
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 38
Yes, it is in USE position.
h8rain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 02:12 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
Roadtoaster's Avatar
 
2019 30' Classic
Byhalia , Mississippi
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 819
If you haven't already, manually flip all breakers to the off position, then return them to on and keep your fingers crossed.
__________________
Greg
Roadtoaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 02:16 PM   #5
2 Rivet Member
 
2012 25' International
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 38
No joy. Reset breakers. Could this be a blown inverter?
h8rain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 02:19 PM   #6
Free Range Human
 
Drathaar's Avatar
 
2012 25' FB Flying Cloud
Currently Looking...
Twin Rocks , Oregon
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 733
Images: 4
Your use switch doesn't need to be on when connected to 30 amp. My bet is you have a tripped breaker because of the source. If you have a surge protecter, use it, and make sure it trips when you test it.

But first, an obvious question... Is the source 30 amp on?

Recycle the breakers at the source, and in the AS.
Drathaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 02:25 PM   #7
Free Range Human
 
Drathaar's Avatar
 
2012 25' FB Flying Cloud
Currently Looking...
Twin Rocks , Oregon
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 733
Images: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by h8rain View Post
No joy. Reset breakers. Could this be a blown inverter?
That would be a converter... AC-> DC

With external off, do you have DC when the use switch is on?

I sent a PM with my cell if you want to talk.
Drathaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 02:53 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
jdalrymple's Avatar
 
2009 27' FB Flying Cloud
1991 35' Airstream 350
Jay , Oklahoma
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,695
Does the microwave, TV or air conditioner work?

These are separate from the battery/convertor circuits and will confirm you have 120 volts into the trailer.


Regards,

JD
__________________
Jeff & Cindy
'09 27FB Flying Cloud
'91 350 LE MH
jdalrymple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 02:57 PM   #9
2 Rivet Member
 
2012 25' International
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 38
No power to anything inside.
h8rain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 02:59 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
jdalrymple's Avatar
 
2009 27' FB Flying Cloud
1991 35' Airstream 350
Jay , Oklahoma
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,695
Breaker on the post you are plugged into?

Some folks always turn the breakers off at the post when unplugging their shoreline.


JD
__________________
Jeff & Cindy
'09 27FB Flying Cloud
'91 350 LE MH
jdalrymple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 03:18 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
2011 25' FB Flying Cloud
Anywhere & , Everywhere
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,090
Transfer switch problem? You have 2 elec inlets on the trailer - have you tried both? If not suggest you do so. The transfer switch problem has been covered in a number of other threads which you should be able to find with a search.
Al - K4GLU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 03:27 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
lsbrodsky's Avatar

 
2012 25' FB International
Trent Woods , North Carolina
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,466
Agree that it has all of the symptoms of a transfer switch problem. Your LED on the cord will be on but you will not have power to the breakers and converter.
Larry
lsbrodsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 03:34 PM   #13
2 Rivet Member
 
2012 25' International
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 38
Nothing works. No micro, battery power to jack, TV or Air Conditioner.
h8rain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 03:36 PM   #14
2 Rivet Member
 
2012 25' International
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 38
Will try front plug on trailer.
h8rain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 03:47 PM   #15
2 Rivet Member
 
2012 25' International
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 38
Genius award to transfer issue!

Didn't have enough reach to try the 30 amp so put on the 110 connector and hooked to front plug-in and immediate power inside.
h8rain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 03:49 PM   #16
Rivet Master
 
jdalrymple's Avatar
 
2009 27' FB Flying Cloud
1991 35' Airstream 350
Jay , Oklahoma
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,695
Good call.

My '09 just has one, and I always miss that.

Glad it is working. That is a known issue, and warranty will cover it.




Regards,

JD
__________________
Jeff & Cindy
'09 27FB Flying Cloud
'91 350 LE MH
jdalrymple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 03:54 PM   #17
2 Rivet Member
 
2012 25' International
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 38
These little bugs are the worst thing and the best about Airstream! Thanks to everyone for helping me! Austin, Texas has a cold beverage on me waiting for my Airstream instructors!!!

Thank you,

Tom
h8rain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 04:18 PM   #18
Free Range Human
 
Drathaar's Avatar
 
2012 25' FB Flying Cloud
Currently Looking...
Twin Rocks , Oregon
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 733
Images: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by h8rain View Post
Genius award to transfer issue!

Didn't have enough reach to try the 30 amp so put on the 110 connector and hooked to front plug-in and immediate power inside.
Cool beans and good news!!! You might consider picking up a 25 foot, 30 amp extension. Mine has come in handy a time or two.

I agree, genius award to AL - KG4U.

Are you getting DC to the batteries now, so that the jack is working???
Drathaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 04:22 PM   #19
cwf
Rivet Master
 
cwf's Avatar
 
1999 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Hillsboro , Texas
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6,278
Images: 2
Make sure you see the transfer switch replacement. There apparently have been several failing. In one guys AS repair to main wiring was needed.
__________________
Peace and Blessings..
Channing
WBCCI# 30676
cwf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 05:04 PM   #20
2 Rivet Member
 
2012 25' International
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 38
No sooner did I step in the house, the front 110 plug apparently blew (blue LED light on front plug-in was out). Decided to try the rear again. Plugged the rear into the 30 amp and A/C is working etc.

Seems pretty finicky. The electrician who installed the 30 amp is coming tomorrow and will see if he's got an idea?
__________________

h8rain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.