Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2020, 02:56 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
JayOhBee's Avatar
 
2012 30' Flying Cloud
Milpitas , California
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 16
GFCI plugs not working

Hi
I got my 2012 FC 30RB a few weeks ago. None of the GFCI plugs were working which is most of the front half of the coach. The breaker was not tripped but there was no power. I replaced the breaker and they still do not work. I feel like I知 missing something. Ideas?
Thanks
John
JayOhBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2020, 03:03 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
BigSxyWhtGuy's Avatar
 
2018 30' Classic
Thousand Oaks , California
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 982
Are you connected to shore power or just using inverter? Inverter only powers certain plugs
__________________
BigSxyWhtGuy

Follow our adventures!
@airstreamvagabond on Instagram and YouTube
BigSxyWhtGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2020, 03:05 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
2018 25' International
Slidell , Louisiana
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 2,232
With the inner front plate of the load center off so you have access to the load side wire lug, carefully test for voltage through the GFI breaker.
__________________
Brian
BayouBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2020, 03:43 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 14,390
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayOhBee View Post
Hi
I got my 2012 FC 30RB a few weeks ago. None of the GFCI plugs were working which is most of the front half of the coach. The breaker was not tripped but there was no power. I replaced the breaker and they still do not work. I feel like I’m missing something. Ideas?
Thanks
John
A few questions . . .

Have you pushed in the Reset button on each of the duplex GFI outlets, if so equipped? Did the original GFI circuit breaker have its own independent Reset button, and does your new replacement breaker have one?

Any chance you have some bad/loose connections in the breaker box at the GFI circuit breaker(s)? [ unplug from shore power first ]

More specific details would help IMO.

Thanks,
__________________
Peter
OTRA15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2020, 04:00 PM   #5
2 Rivet Member
 
2017 30' International
Box Elder , South Dakota
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 54
Check the fuse, breaker on the inverter itself
Labeda14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2020, 04:09 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
2018 25' International
Slidell , Louisiana
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 2,232
FYI the inverter circuit and the GFCI circuit are separate.
__________________
Brian
BayouBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2020, 04:30 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 14,390
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayOhBee View Post
Hi
I got my 2012 FC 30RB a few weeks ago. None of the GFCI plugs were working which is most of the front half of the coach. The breaker was not tripped but there was no power. I replaced the breaker and they still do not work. I feel like I’m missing something. Ideas?
Thanks
John
Correct, Brian, the OP above is not about the inverter outlets IMO.
__________________
Peter
OTRA15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2020, 05:34 PM   #8
1 Rivet Member
 
JayOhBee's Avatar
 
2012 30' Flying Cloud
Milpitas , California
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 16
Thanks for the quick replies. I don稚 have an inverter. I知 on shore power. The plugs in question are all labeled GFCI and none have a reset button. The reset button on the original breaker would not depress so I replaced the breaker. The test button on the new breaker clicks but does not throw the breaker. Comments indicate that perhaps that is due to no power to the breaker. I guess the breaker could have fried in the same way as the original too. I have a multimeter and tested voltage between the two lugs in the breaker but got zero. However I got the same on other breakers so I am probably not measuring correctly. I知 not confident enough to experiment without some guidance. Load side should be measured against what?
Thanks
John
JayOhBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2020, 05:47 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
2018 25' International
Slidell , Louisiana
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 2,232
zero between the two lugs is expected because there should not be any volage drop across the breaker. Check voltage from both the lugs to any metal "ground" on the trailer or to the neutral bus. Both lugs should have 120 or so voltage drop to neutral or ground.
__________________
Brian
BayouBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2020, 06:55 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 14,390
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayOhBee View Post
. . .
. . . The test button on the new breaker clicks but does not throw the breaker.
. . .
Thanks for the update.



https://www.homedepot.com/p/Square-D...FICP/100002959
https://www.homedepot.com/c/ab/types...5fab900f0d22b4
https://youtu.be/A9ap5heHE1Q

Above my pay grade, so bowing out here . . . not sure why the breaker did not trip.

FYI/FWIW

Good luck,
__________________
Peter
OTRA15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2020, 09:05 PM   #11
1 Rivet Member
 
JayOhBee's Avatar
 
2012 30' Flying Cloud
Milpitas , California
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 16
Thanks OTRA15, that’s the breaker I replaced. Brands are different but same breaker. BayouBiker, thanks for the direction. Turns out that the bottom 3 breakers are receiving no power. This explains the GFCI issue as well as the reason my front AC won’t turn on. The third is for the water heater which does just fine on propane. So my next step is to take it to a professional. I’ll post what they find. Thank you for your help everyone. This forum is a great resource.
Thanks
John
JayOhBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2020, 09:22 PM   #12
Site Team
 
azflycaster's Avatar

 
2002 25' Safari
Dewey , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 14,092
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1
your trailer is wired for 50 amp service based on the fact that you have 2 A/C units. It sounds like you may only have power on one of the two 50 amp input lines to the trailer. If you are using a 30 amp to 50 amp adapter you would have these issues. Also, is one of the two 50 amp breakers was tripped or defective, you might have this issue.
__________________

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2020, 09:27 PM   #13
1 Rivet Member
 
JayOhBee's Avatar
 
2012 30' Flying Cloud
Milpitas , California
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 16
Ahhhh, that makes sense. Yes 50 amp plugged into 50. I値l flip the main breakers and double check the connectors at the pedestal and at the airstream to see if anything is loose or out of place. Thanks!!
JayOhBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 01:52 AM   #14
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 14,390
Thumbs up

Learning something every day . . .

Thanks Richard.

__________________
Peter
OTRA15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 06:04 AM   #15
Rivet Master
 
2018 25' International
Slidell , Louisiana
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 2,232
Oh for sure! Check for 120V on both hot leads at the pedestal. Check the leads at the trailer side of the cable as well.
__________________
Brian
BayouBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 04:31 PM   #16
:SPACE A" S/O 11 Air19745
 
guskmg's Avatar

 
2006 34' Classic S/O
Fort Worth , Texas
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,289
The 30 to 50 amp adapter should power up both 110v legs simultainously.
guskmg
guskmg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 05:34 PM   #17
4 Rivet Member
 
2018 27' Globetrotter
Mooresville , North Carolina
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 425
Most of this is way above my pay grade as well. However, I had a similar problem in a diesel pusher we had years ago with 50 Amp service. Same symptoms - some of my AC outlets worked and some did not. I called an electrician and it was determined we had a faulty 50 Amp Cord. Back at that time you could take apart the end that connected to the RV. It as a big fat cord that had been turned and angled too many times and 1 leg of the 50 Amp service wire had become disconnected. The electrician was able to connect it back and problem solved.

This probably is not your issue but if you do all your tests and still have no results see if you can borrow another 50 Amp cord and see if that solves it.
__________________
2018 GMC Sierra 2500HD Duramax
Equal-I-zer Hitch
"Roadrunner"
GOUSC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 08:39 PM   #18
1 Rivet Member
 
JayOhBee's Avatar
 
2012 30' Flying Cloud
Milpitas , California
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by GOUSC View Post
... it was determined we had a faulty 50 Amp Cord. Back at that time you could take apart the end that connected to the RV. It as a big fat cord that had been turned and angled too many times and 1 leg of the 50 Amp service wire had become disconnected. The electrician was able to connect it back and problem solved.

This probably is not your issue but if you do all your tests and still have no results see if you can borrow another 50 Amp cord and see if that solves it.



Uh, yep, this appears to be the issue. I verified that one leg of the 50 amp main breaker had zero volts while the other had 120. This morning I shut off the power at the pedestal and played around with the connector at the coach. I could not really see anything but it does not feel like it is making a full connection (maybe magical thinking?). After turning the power back on my wife complained that all the 110 power was off and she was unable to make coffee in the bedroom where the power worked previously. This was serious. I straightened out the cord so it entered the coach level at 90 degrees and the power to that leg came back on. (OK now I am concerned) There happened to be a post of the right height and in the right place so I draped the cord over the post and we had the original half of the power for the rest of the morning until we packed up and left. Later this week I am going to break open the connector and see what is up. I have already ordered a replacement. When I open up the old connector I'll send pictures. Thanks!
__________________
John
-----------------------------------------
2012 Flying Cloud 30RB
2015 Ram 2500 Cummins 6.7L
JayOhBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2020, 01:12 AM   #19
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 14,390
Great update, thanks.
__________________
Peter
OTRA15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2020, 09:58 PM   #20
1 Rivet Member
 
JayOhBee's Avatar
 
2012 30' Flying Cloud
Milpitas , California
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 16
Here is the connector. The red hot lead is not connected to anything. The black hot lead is still a solid connection. The white neutral is loose but the wire is still in the connector. Same for the green ground. Wow. Thanks for your help. New parts are coming and I'll rewire later this week.
Thanks,
John
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4234.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	185.7 KB
ID:	379681  
__________________
John
-----------------------------------------
2012 Flying Cloud 30RB
2015 Ram 2500 Cummins 6.7L
JayOhBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2016 Classic Inverter plugs not working Arbi 2016 - Current Classic (all lengths) 16 10-07-2019 08:58 AM
86 Sov front plugs and dome light stopped working snappykelly Lights - Interior & Exterior 0 06-28-2019 07:27 PM
Electic Jack not working - fuse good - manual not working ryandanz Jacks, Stabilizers, Lifting and Leveling 20 04-24-2016 10:04 AM
1987 345 indoor electrical plugs not working sharptalk Classic Motorhomes 2 07-21-2012 09:48 PM
How Can it Be? 2 Plugs work, 2 Plugs dont Aluminumb Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 10 07-27-2009 07:44 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.