Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2020, 04:58 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
2020 27' Flying Cloud
Erwin , Tennessee
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 16
GFCI breaker issue - 3 day old flying cloud

Hello folks. I am an AS veteran of 3 full days. I have a question. I did several searches and spent at least two hours reading non applicable stuff so apologies in advance if covered elsewhere.

2020 flying cloud 27 FB

Day 1 everything worked no problem at all. Day 2 stayed at a koa campground in charlotte (first night in SC was 5 star experience, day 2 in koa not so much).

All of a sudden my GFCI plugs don't work. Well all but 1 to be clear. No other issues. 50 amp shoreline. Have surge protector. The bathroom/kitchen/outdoor/ bedroom plugs didn't work.

None of the plugs had a recent on the plug. There is 1 GFI under the bench by the table that does have reset, but it was working, was reset, and appears not to be on same circuit.

In panel box it was not tripped. I flipped breaker off and on to be sure and nothing. I push the test button and does not trip breaker.

Any thoughts. Is it possible my breaker went bad after 1 day? If it was an issue with one of the gfi plugs, the breaker would still engage and pop right? Those breakers ate $50. Stings a bit for a 3 fay old unit that cost more than i am comfortable admitting.

Gonna swap out but anyone have any other thoughts. I have limited electrical knowledge/experience and it seems to be the most complex part of the new rig.

Thanks all!!
__________________

NCTN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2020, 05:07 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
wulfraat's Avatar
 
2017 30' International
Broomfield , Colorado
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,341
Images: 1
I believe there is a blue gfci reset switch on the gfci breaker itself... did you try that?
__________________

wulfraat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2020, 05:12 PM   #3
3 Rivet Member
 
2018 30' Classic
Williamsburg , VA
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 153
I don't see a reset on my GFCI outlets. Is there a master reset somewhere?
__________________
2018 Classic 30
2012 F250 6.7l
US Army Watercraft Engineering Officer
primepower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2020, 05:15 PM   #4
1 Rivet Member
 
2020 27' Flying Cloud
Erwin , Tennessee
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 16
There is no button other than test.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2396.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	270.4 KB
ID:	368646
NCTN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2020, 05:34 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
2018 25' International
Slidell , Louisiana
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 1,580
Sorry to hear of your troubles. Your style is similar to mine and does not have a separate GFI reset. I just went out to verify how it works. As you surmised the test button and a ground fault will throw the breaker. I would cycle the switch a couple times. Push it fairly hard to the off position to try to catch the reset latch, then flip it back on. It should snap in with a audible clap as a spring holds the contacts in place. If it doesn't try a couple more times using a tad more pressure when pushing the switch to off. Still doesn't? Then you unfortunately need to replace it.

It's not a difficult job and you don't need special tools. You will have to disconnect shore power, remove the plastic door and then the metal panel front the breakers latch under the bus bar on the top and click in with a spring latch on the bottom.
__________________
Brian
BayouBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2020, 05:44 PM   #6
1 Rivet Member
 
2020 27' Flying Cloud
Erwin , Tennessee
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayouBiker View Post
Sorry to hear of your troubles. Your style is similar to mine and does not have a separate GFI reset. I just went out to verify how it works. As you surmised the test button and a ground fault will throw the breaker. I would cycle the switch a couple times. Push it fairly hard to the off position to try to catch the reset latch, then flip it back on. It should snap in with a audible clap as a spring holds the contacts in place. If it doesn't try a couple more times using a tad more pressure when pushing the switch to off. Still doesn't? Then you unfortunately need to replace it.

It's not a difficult job and you don't need special tools. You will have to disconnect shore power, remove the plastic door and then the metal panel front the breakers latch under the bus bar on the top and click in with a spring latch on the bottom.


Thank you. Tried that. Gonna replace breaker. Hopefully can get at big box because i live an hour from an RV service places. Appreciate the quick responses. Will reply if this doesn't correct the issue.
NCTN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2020, 06:08 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
2018 25' International
Slidell , Louisiana
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 1,580
You may also want to first verify you don't have a short or ground fault preventing the breaker from resetting. Are all the outlets free of devices? The refrig does plug into the same circuit and the outlet is outside behind the access panel.
__________________
Brian
BayouBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2020, 06:28 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
A W Warn's Avatar

 
2000 25' Safari
1999 34' Excella
Davidson County , North Carolina
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,237
If you have been in rain, the outdoor plug might have water inside it, or if anything you have plugged in might be damp inside, that could prevent a reset.
__________________
Alan
2014 Silverado LTZ 1500 Crew Cab 5.3L maximum trailering package
A W Warn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2020, 06:31 PM   #9
1 Rivet Member
 
2020 27' Flying Cloud
Erwin , Tennessee
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by A W Warn View Post
If you have been in rain, the outdoor plug might have water inside it. That could prevent a reset.


Interesting. We did have rain. Not that much and the cover was closed but i will consider this.
NCTN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2020, 06:44 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
2018 25' International
Slidell , Louisiana
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 1,580
If you do end up replacing it, it is a very common bus bar design so you don't need an Eaton C115. The original design was a Cutler Hammer CL type. So A Murry MP, Siemens Q, GE THQ and many more interchange. Mine is a Siemens, it has a nice LED indicating if there is a ground fault.
__________________
Brian
BayouBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2020, 09:53 PM   #11
2 Rivet Member
 
2017 30' International
Box Elder , South Dakota
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 41
Check the breaker/fuse on the inverter...like physically on the inverter unit
Labeda14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 09:54 AM   #12
2 Rivet Member
 
2019 20' Flying Cloud
Eau Claire , Wisconsin
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 72
If you only lose some of the outlets to ac then I would check the reset on the rear of the inverter. Happened to me not that long ago.
Backfortyjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 12:10 PM   #13
1 Rivet Member
 
1994 33' Land Yacht
APEX , NC
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 15
GFCI reset

Reset the Gfic breaker by turning OFF until it clicks then turn it on.
Don't change out the receptacles
RON NICKELS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:16 PM   #14
Rivet Master

 
2015 27' Flying Cloud
Portland , Oregon
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 571
Send a message via AIM to hhendrix Send a message via Yahoo to hhendrix
I've run into this problem before. Try removing the surge protector and connecting directly to the power post. Sometimes even though the display on the protector reads OK, it may not be. If you have the opportunity to try another 50 amp cord, sometimes there is a problem with a very minor cross connection in the cord. Remember it only takes a mismatch of about 5 mA of current (5 milliamps or . 005 A) to trip a GFCI.
__________________
The ability to follow instructions is highly underrated.
Always be wary of stupid people in large numbers.
hhendrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 01:28 PM   #15
1 Rivet Member
 
2014 30' International
Delphi , Indiana
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 14
Gfci

Always lots of excellent advice on this forum. I had a similar issue this last winter in south Texas when I very thoroughly washed my AS, I suspect I sprayed water into the vent above the refrigerator. After several hours drying out in the low humidity everything was good again. Sometimes you just get lucky!
drbob46923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 03:50 PM   #16
2 Rivet Member
 
2006 28' International CCD
Saint Paul , Minnesota
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 44
External outlets are GFI and very sensitive to any moisture no matter what cover is used. Hair dryers or heat guns (careful with this one, I’ve disfigured one outlet already) have combatted successfully fog, heavy dew as well as rain.Eventually enough! Sealed it off completely.q
Mhphhoward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2020, 04:48 PM   #17
1 Rivet Member
 
2018 27' International
Crossville , Tennessee
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 8
three day old GFCI issuee

Had this problem called the factory any had me reset the breaker on the side of the inverter , did that and everything was ok. It was a red button on the side of the inverter , One would never think there was a reset on the inverter but this was the problem. Calling the factory has been a good way to find out these thing ,and they are very good to help you,
denora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2020, 06:21 AM   #18
Rivet Master
 
turk123's Avatar

 
2019 30' Classic
Canfield , Ohio
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by denora View Post
Had this problem called the factory any had me reset the breaker on the side of the inverter , did that and everything was ok. It was a red button on the side of the inverter , One would never think there was a reset on the inverter but this was the problem. Calling the factory has been a good way to find out these thing ,and they are very good to help you,
I had a similar problem with my inverter. I thought it got wet and shorted out when the sink fell in my 2019 Classic (spilling water on top of the inverter). It dried out and the breaker on the inverter reset. Good to go now!!

Thanks, Denora!
__________________
x\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\101970\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\x/x\/x\x/x\x/x
2017 Airstream International Signature 27FB Twin
2019 Airstream Classic 30 Twin
turk123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2020, 10:40 AM   #19
Rivet Master
 
NevadaGeo's Avatar
 
1978 31' Excella 500
Genoa , Nevada
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,392
There might be another GFCI in line with the others you haven’t found yet. I knew a house where the gfcis in the garage wouldn’t work, found a gfci in a bathroom on the other end of the house controlled the garage.
__________________
I admit to being powerless over housecleaning and social niceities
Airforums 22655 and now, WBCCI 22655

NevadaGeo
NevadaGeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2020, 12:17 PM   #20
1 Rivet Member
 
2014 28' International
Cedar Pak , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 9
GFCI tripping is a problematic situation. My experience tells me to check all the outlets for proper connection. Correct grounding is not always present on OEM RV Receptacles. Also consider replacing the GFCI Outlet. OEM GFCI Plugs are usually sub par.
__________________

cesaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI breaker tripping w/nothing plugged in aikenjt Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 36 06-04-2020 12:23 PM
GFCI Breaker keeps tripping jbdelapp Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 6 08-01-2019 08:48 AM
Help trip gfci breaker JamesSDancer Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 4 06-21-2017 11:16 AM
Replace 15amp GFCI breaker with 20amp? KYAirstream Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 6 11-23-2012 08:20 AM
GFCI breaker Dusty-B Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 13 03-18-2012 02:52 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.