Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-01-2014, 11:45 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member

2009 30' Classic
Surprise , Arizona
Fluctuating voltage

Been full timing over a year w/o issue, been at a park on shore power for a month, with excellent ac supply. We suddenly have fluctuating power, 98to 118 volts, bouncing up and down at times, no change in power usage. Even turned off ac to fridge and water heater. Parks breaker a bit warmer than neighbors. Copper wired box. Parks man currently checking it out, but his first though was my inverter may be the cause. I'm no electrician, but have had a breaker go bad on e in another park, it was quite warm. Any advice? Is the invertors possibly the cause?
Jackcat2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 12:04 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2000 25' Safari
Davidson County , NC Highlands County, FL
If you are checking voltage on the outlet where the power is supplied by the inverter, it's possible. If you are checking on a circuit that is not associated with the inverter, the inverter should not affect that circuit.

Try unplugging the trailer from shore power and check voltage there. If it's fluctuating there that rules out any issue with the trailer.

I would bet everyone using their AC units, putting a heavy load on the park's system, is the problem.

add edit; voltage that low (98v) can damage your AC unit.
Old 07-01-2014, 05:00 PM   #3
3 Rivet Member

2009 30' Classic
Surprise , Arizona
Thanks for the quick reply. The maintenance man must have had second thoughts about the breaker being warmer than the adjoining one. He replaced the breaker and the voltage has remained at an acceptable constant level.
Jackcat2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 05:36 PM   #4
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho