Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2013, 09:18 AM   #21
Rivet Master
 
Alumaholic's Avatar

 
2019 27' Flying Cloud
Albuquerque , New Mexico
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,915
Images: 36
It's a Simple Installation...

Quote:
Originally Posted by NwilcoxM View Post
Thanks to everyone for all your help, we will get started on shopping around for a power converter, charger and a fuse panel, hopefully that will fix it. When it comes to replacing the old univolt with the new, can someone walk me through it? Or should I have the RV repairman do it? Again, we are so so new, and have done some plumbing and propane repairs, but nothing electrical. I'll post pics soon of what we have done!
But not something everyone will be comfortable doing themselves.
So, if you and/or your husband don't consider yourselves "basic" electricians with some knowledge of 120 volt AC wiring and some knowledge of 12 volt DC wiring, and how the two systems work together,go ahead and have it done.
But don't pay more than $45 for labor. It takes about 30 minutes.
Here in Albuquerque, the RV techs charge a flat $110 per hour, and they love jobs like this since for them it's a "plug and play" you pay installation.
__________________
Ken L
2019 Flying Cloud 27FB
2020 GMC Sierra 1500 Crew Cab 6.2L Max Tow
Four Corners Unit WBCCI #5783
Alumaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 12:52 PM   #22
1 Rivet Member
 
1974 31' Sovereign
Brevard , North Carolina
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 18
contacted Randy

I went ahead to ordered as per Randy's recommendations the Powermax Boondocker 60 amp, and 9 position fuse board. We will have our electrical friend install and it and save some money on labor since we went with a more powerful power converter. Hope this fixes our problems!
NwilcoxM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 08:29 AM   #23
1 Rivet Member
 
1974 31' Sovereign
Brevard , North Carolina
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 18
Help with power converter swap out

I know this is a crazy question, but how do you get to the univolt to remove it? Its surrounded by gas lines and even with long arms, you don't have enough space to do anything. Is there a way to get to it from the outside behind the battery?? Our electrician friend bailed, so we are going to replace it ourselves but don't know where (literally) to begin...
NwilcoxM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 08:55 AM   #24
Rivet Master
 
Alumaholic's Avatar

 
2019 27' Flying Cloud
Albuquerque , New Mexico
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,915
Images: 36
Is it under the gaucho? Remove the gaucho.
You cannot remove and replace the converter/charger from the outside.
It comes out the way it went in. From the inside. But it went in before the furniture was installed.
Find yourself an "Airstream Buddy" to guide you through the process. I have guided many through the process here in Abq.
__________________
Ken L
2019 Flying Cloud 27FB
2020 GMC Sierra 1500 Crew Cab 6.2L Max Tow
Four Corners Unit WBCCI #5783
Alumaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 09:23 AM   #25
1 Rivet Member
 
1974 31' Sovereign
Brevard , North Carolina
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 18
Univolt location

My univolt is under the stove in the kitchen, right next to the door. The only opening is a tambor under the stove, way in the back, behind all the gas lines...
NwilcoxM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 02:06 PM   #26
Rivet Master
 
Alumaholic's Avatar

 
2019 27' Flying Cloud
Albuquerque , New Mexico
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,915
Images: 36
Ah, I had one like that once.
You take the stove out, not a difficult task.
Remove four screws, disconnect the propane line, and lift the stove up and out.
Know where you are going to set it and protect the floor with a piece of cardboard or a canvas drop cloth.
Be sure to turn off propane tanks.
When you reinstall stove, do a leak check with soapy water.
__________________
Ken L
2019 Flying Cloud 27FB
2020 GMC Sierra 1500 Crew Cab 6.2L Max Tow
Four Corners Unit WBCCI #5783
Alumaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 04:31 PM   #27
Rivet Master
 
arodriguez60's Avatar
 
2008 27' Classic FB
1959 22' Flying Cloud
fairview , New Mexico
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 575
Images: 85
I had a similar problem on my tradewind the problem turned out to be an automotive type circuit breaker It was located behind the control panel
__________________



Avion C11
1959 Flying Cloud
1969 Tradewind
1973 Safari
1983 34 ft Limited
2004 F250 superduty ext cab
2014 F350 longbed superduty crewcab
arodriguez60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.