Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-03-2017, 05:20 PM   #1

1974 23' Safari
Seattle , Washington
Question Electrical Help

Hi All
My name is Kris, I'm new to trailering in general. I'm gutting and restoring a 23' 1974 airstream. I've taken all interior appliances and skins, all that is left is the electrical system and sub floor. I have been reading some of the forums, and I've come to the realization that it would be best if I got help. I live in south Seattle and have contacted electricians and RV repair shops but they have all told me that its is too old to work on or just that they only do house electrical. The trailer did not have any control center so its been difficult to know whats what. I need to purchase a new system and just need some guidance on what to buy. Also if any one knows a local guy who I could hire to come out and take a look- that'd be helpful.
kris dales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2017, 06:48 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1986 34' Limited
1975 27' Overlander
1969 21' Globetrotter
Conifer , Colorado
Welcome Kris Dales: So you are as crazy as me and jumped into this vintage Airstream hobby, the deep end it sounds. Rewiring an Airstream with the interior skins off is certainly do-able. You've got to study it some and you'll be fine. Here is Airsteam electrical 101 to get you started.

1. Airstream rather invented the "univolt" trailer electrical system. The idea is to have all the trailer's systems run on 12 volts. Furnace, water pump, roof vents, lighting, and the like. Doing that, you can park your trailer in the middle of a field and have all the comforts the trailer offers.