Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-09-2018, 04:49 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2014 25' Flying Cloud
Navasota , Texas
Easy Start for AC - Better Directions Needed

A friend and I just installed the Easy Start 364 on my Airstream today. It took watching Youtube videos, looking at the included instructions etc , and calling the Easy Start help line to figure it all out. I am a novice and he has a electrical engineering degree. He commented that the instructions seemed a bit confusing at least on the stage 4 as below. General Instructions would be real helpful. I would have summarized the instructions as follows:

Big Idea: You'll eliminate the existing Starter Capacitor and use two wires of the Easy Start for that function. They will wire into the Running Capacitor (replacing the function of the starter capacitor). You'll splice the two remaining wires of the Easy Start into wires that come off of the compressor. They will not be connected to the running capacitor in any way when you're finished.

Here are the basic steps we did:

1 The Easy Start has four wires: orange, white, black, brown

2 The existing Starter Capacitor (the small one) is removed and now redundant. Unplug it from the Running Capacitor (the large one) and substitute the orange and white wires on the Easy Start in place of the wires that were coming from the old starter capacitor. (This takes care of the first two wires on the Easy Start)

3 Splice the black wire from the Easy Start into the blue wire that you can follow back from the compressor. We cut the blue wire, stripped the two ends where we cut it, and soldered it to the black Easy Start wire.