Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-02-2020, 01:09 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2021 Interstate 24GT
Prosperity , South Carolina
Question Connectivity

Yeah, I know, RV'ing is a way to get away from it all. But still, connecting to internet can be important. We ordered AS Interstate and going through process of setting up and getting gear before it comes. I'm not too tech savvy, and sorry if this has been answered before (I could not find a thread): we may have dealer install Winegard 2.0 Wifi booster (maybe not the similar model for wifi and 4g LTE)(both have mixed reviews on Amazon). Will also likely get mobile hotspot, like Verizon jetpack. But do I need both? Has anyone found that hotspot alone gets good enough wifi for internetting? We also need connectivity for remote temp. monitor for the dog.
Any thoughts on a good setup for wifi?
Gintory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2020, 10:36 PM   #2
Site Team

2017 30' International
Broomfield , Colorado
Connectivity

You donít need both. Start with a simple portable hotspot. Either a verizon jetpack 8800L or att Netgear nighthawk device.

The hotspot itself provides WiFi connectivity to the internet via the cellular modem.

If you want to use campground WiFi and feel that you want your own private networ, etc, Mount a pepwave soho router in the rear window of your coach. They are about $200 bucks new or $120 bucks used on eBay.

Thatís all you need.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0909.JPG
Views:	29
Size:	863.3 KB
ID:	367064  
wulfraat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2020, 10:42 AM   #3
2 Rivet Member

2021 Interstate 24GT
Prosperity , South Carolina
Connectivity