Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-15-2006, 11:35 AM   #1
Naysayer

1968 24' Tradewind
Russellville , earth
Charging 12V using TV and jumper cables?

What is the argument against using the TV and jumper cables to top off the 12V every few days when boondocking? I'm sure it would end in plague, pestulance, and bad karma, and I am sure the engineers are against it; what I dont know is why. Thanks

Visit my photography and painting website
https://rooseveltfineart.com
Instagram is r.w.roosevelt

Boondocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2006, 12:31 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1951 21' Flying Cloud
1960 24' Tradewind
Folsom , California
I'm no engineer, but one (probably obvious) issue is the enormous amount of "energy" you'd be expending to do something that proportionately takes a very small amount of "energy" (charging a 12v battery) - like using a firehose to get a drink of water.

Aluminumbskull with Led Balloon in Drag
Birch Plywood and Aluminum go together like
Peanut Butter and Chocolate
MarkR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2006, 12:49 PM   #3
3 Rivet Member

2004 16' International CCD
Cincinnati , Ohio
i'm probably cornfused about the proposition, but i read it as:

* hook one end of jumper cables to TV battery.

* hook other end of jumper cables to AS battery.

* a) wait OR
b) start engine and wait

so if i just do "a" and wait, i risk transferring so much energy from the TV battery that i can't start my TV, thus extending my boondock indefinitely.