Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2023, 12:48 PM   #1
New Member
 
1974 Argosy 22
Williston , SC
Join Date: May 2023
Posts: 3
Capacitor Replacement

Hey guys!

Super stoked to be here! I am a brand new owner of a not-at-all brand new airstream!

It is a '74 Argosy 22' and it's been gutted besides the bathroom, so I got a lot of work ahead of me!

The biggest thing I need to fix before I willtake it to the park for a trial run, is the AC. The unit comes on, and I can feel it's cold air, but it runs for only about 60-90 seconds, then the compressor cuts off. 3-5 minutes later it comes back on, and etc.

My first thought is capacitors. I have just pulled both of them, but I am unable to identify the specs from the faded lettering.
I have pictures below. Hoping someone has some insight here!

Thanks!!!

-Jake
Jake Reindl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2023, 02:10 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member
 
Boise , ID
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 175
The bottom one seems to say 370v 25/4mfd. I agree. Very hard to read. Sometimes I get results using my phone camera to magnify the image, change the exposure, or trying other filters to bring out details.
Bunker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2023, 02:42 PM   #3
New Member
 
1974 Argosy 22
Williston , SC
Join Date: May 2023
Posts: 3
I'll give that a try and report back, thanks!
Jake Reindl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2023, 03:04 PM   #4
Rivet Master

 
2017 25' International
West Lake Hills , Texas
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 1,626
How about photos of the plug side, too.
Fungus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2023, 03:13 PM   #5
Rivet Master

 
2017 25' International
West Lake Hills , Texas
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 1,626
CDE = Cornell Dubilier

Here is there "contact us" page. Might be worth a shot to contact them directly.

https://www.cde.com/one-call-center-product-support/

or Mouser
Fungus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2023, 03:16 PM   #6
New Member
 
1974 Argosy 22
Williston , SC
Join Date: May 2023
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fungus View Post
How about photos of the plug side, too.
Good thought. Here they are:



Jake Reindl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2023, 09:03 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
1988 32' Excella
Robbinsville , New Jersey
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,086
When I replaced capacitors I took them to an RV store, showed them to a guy working there and he grabbed a set off the shelf for me. It was a few years ago (maybe a decade) and cost $30-40.
Wazbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2023, 07:34 AM   #8
3 Rivet Member
 
Oak Park , Illinois
Join Date: Mar 2023
Posts: 178
Run/Start capacitors are mostly for the starting phase, if the A/C ran then stopped after 60-90 seconds and you were sure the compressor was running and you had cold air coming out, I'd be surprised if the capacitors were the root cause. Though not impossible that it could be the capacitor, every capacitor failure I've had in my A/C units was complete, meaning either the compressor, the fan or both would not work at all, they would not start the fan and compressor and just stop. Capacitors are basically energy storage devices that help the quick on load of heavy duty devices, like compressors and fan motors.

Capacitors are relatively inexpensive, so I'd agree replace them, but my guess is that the issue may very well be elsewhere. We are talking a fairly old A/C unit correct?
sfranklin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2023, 10:11 AM   #9
4 Rivet Member
 
1976 Argosy 24
1961 28' Ambassador
1968 26' Overlander
Lakewood , Colorado
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 397
Agree with several of the above posts, it's amazing how many of these will come back to life. A few thoughts, are you running on a 30 amp outlet? Even if the compressor only runs a minute or two there should be some temperature differential in the tubes. I have had several failed thermostats so maybe find those two wires and jump them to keep it running. A couple of mine just were on/off with a toggle switch. Don't be fooled by possible mis-positioned switches and knobs. I've also replaced the large capacitor with 2 smaller ones, follow the wiring diagram, may have to add a power jumper wire.
Good luck, Mark D
mrdes8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Armstrong AC relay and Capacitor replacement pickerdd Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 11 08-17-2017 12:07 PM
Furnace capacitor replacement NT 32A Bambi517 Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 9 11-03-2010 12:09 PM
Need help with capacitor rating FrenchBern Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 4 02-16-2009 03:04 PM
Add a capacitor or not Silvertwinkie Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 40 03-05-2008 08:06 PM
Need Capacitor Specs: Armstrong blanier Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 9 06-15-2007 01:15 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.