Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-07-2018, 05:24 PM   #1

2017 27' International
Dadeville , Alabama
Smile Battery use and store switch and converter

I'm a newbie to Air Streams, and have questions for those who may have encountered this or has any insight to problem. My battery store switch will not turn on when shore power is disconnected to trailer. I switch it on and no red light appears at switch, but when I switch back to store position, I hear a click that sounds like a solenoid coming from the converter. When plugged into shore power, the red light on the battery use/store switch is ON. I, also, checked the charge on the battery today, and it is showing 60% charge after the trailer has been plugged into a 15 amp service for pass few days. Should the converter be charging the batteries while plugged into the 15 amps? If so, do I a converter and switch problem or could they be related? Each time I tried using the battery use switch, the batteries were showing 90% charge and with trailer plugged into shore power the batteries show 12.6 V or more. The AS is parked under covered storage so no direct sunlight is getting to the solar panel for charging the batteries. The AS is a 2017 International Serenity and thankfully has a few more months under warranty.
Thanks
Linda Latham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2018, 05:47 PM   #2
The Aluminum Tent 3

2014 23' Flying Cloud
Park City , Utah
I'm not sure I totally follow this. But if you are hearing a 'click' it is likely working.