Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-15-2021, 04:36 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Stonewall , Oklahoma
Battery tender snd shore power

Hi all!

Newbie here- we have been reading like crazy, so much great info on these forums, but I think we are stuck. I have disconnected the two batteries in our 2017 “new to us” 25’ FC, and attached one to a battery tender, after having pulled it from the box. We are hoping to prolong the battery life this way, when not camping. Is there any reason for me to have concerns about connecting to 50 amp shore power, so I can run a tiny dehumidifier inside, turn on lights, etc? Our AS is in a metal shop building, with blown foam insulation, so somewhat protected, but it still gets humid in there. We have our first trip planned for august, we want to have everything ship shape, and batteries ready to go. Any thoughts? Do I leave the AS unplugged? Will I fry or burn something if I plug her in? (So much to learn!)

Thanks for any input!
Outwithdogs
outwithdogs is online now Report Post
outwithdogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2021, 06:14 AM   #2
4 Rivet Member

Chelsea , Maine
I have a ‘17 27FB, purchased new. The FIRST thing I did to it was to swap out the battery boiling stock converter to a true 3 (or 4 if you count equalization) stage converter. If your AS has the stock converter, it is not battery friendly.
If you want to keep it plugged into shore power you can simply turn off the circuit breaker for the converter. All of the other AC circuits will still work, but your batteries won’t charge.
You can then connect your Battery Tender to your batteries to keep them charged. No need to disconnect cables or remove them from the battery box.
Going camping? Disconnect the Battery Tender and turn on the converter circuit breaker. Easy peasy.
JMynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2021, 06:10 AM   #3
1 Rivet Member

Stonewall , Oklahoma
JMynes